TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,997 Reviews & Articles | 38,719 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Counter-Strike gamer live streams SWAT team breach into his room

ASUS P8Z77-V Pro/Thunderbolt (Intel Z77) Motherboard Review - ASUS P8Z77-V Pro/Thunderbolt Motherboard

ASUS P8Z77-V Pro/Thunderbolt (Intel Z77) Motherboard Review

It's been a while since we've seen an ASUS board, but today we're checking out the P8Z77-V Pro/Thunderbolt.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Mar 23, 2013 1:30 am
TweakTown Rating: 96%      Manufacturer: ASUS

ASUS P8Z77-V Pro/Thunderbolt Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5260_08_asus_p8z77_v_pro_thunderbolt_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

You can see we've got a black PCB, which we love to see. As for the rest goes, we've got a dark / light blue setup, which we're not the biggest fans of. When it comes to ASUS boards we can't deny the red and black conversation on the ROG-based boards are indeed the ones that grab our attention the most.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5260_09_asus_p8z77_v_pro_thunderbolt_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Along with two legacy PCI slots you can see we've also got two PCIe x1 slots. Along with that we've got three PCI x16 slots to round off the expansion side of things. As for those x16 the top most one is wired at x16 while the other two are wired at x8. If you opt for a two card setup it will be x8 / x8, while if you use all three the slots will run at x8 / x4 / x4.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5260_10_asus_p8z77_v_pro_thunderbolt_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading across the bottom of the board it's very much the same old procedure for the most part. You can see the TPM header along with an impressive five USB 2.0 headers. Between these headers we have the USB BIOS Flashback button, while the far right gives us the main front panel header.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5260_11_asus_p8z77_v_pro_thunderbolt_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Turning the corner you can see the TPU and EPU button along with a Serial Port header. SATA ports come in the form of eight with the four light blue ones being SATA II running off the Z77 chipset, while the two white ones are SATA III running off the same chipset. The final two dark blue ones are also SATA III, but these particular ones run off the ASMedia controller.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5260_12_asus_p8z77_v_pro_thunderbolt_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading towards the top of the board you can see four DIMM slots offering support for up to 32GB of DDR3 ranging from 1066MHz DDR all the way to 2600MHz DDR via overclocking. Below these we have the main 24-pin ATX power connector with the MEM OK! switch on the right and a USB 3.0 header along with two fan headers on the left hand side.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5260_13_asus_p8z77_v_pro_thunderbolt_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5260_14_asus_p8z77_v_pro_thunderbolt_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving around to the CPU area you can see the 8-pin CPU power connector towards the top of the board and a fairly nice looking heatsink setup around the CPU socket. Like most boards these days the overall setup around here is pretty clean and apart from the heatsinks there's generally not a whole lot more to see.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5260_15_asus_p8z77_v_pro_thunderbolt_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Finishing up with the I/O side of things you can see a combo PS/2 port along with four USB 3.0 connectors. We've got an optical out port that goes with the six auxiliary ports that run off the Realtek ALC892 HD chip. Video out options include HDMI, DVI and VGA - lacking DisplayPort. Gigabit networking is provided by the Intel 82579V controller and finally on the far right you can see a single Thunderbolt port.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases