TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,085 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Corsair Hydro Series H90 AIO CPU Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

Corsair Hydro Series H90 AIO CPU Cooler Review

Corsair takes the Hydro series to 140mm. Have a look at the H90 we received for testing and see if it's a good option or not to cool your CPU.

| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 5, 2013 7:23 am
TweakTown Rating: 87%      Manufacturer: Corsair

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5231_25_corsair_hydro_series_h90_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

First off I went ahead and grabbed the Intel bracket that goes on the head unit, the one with all the bent teeth on the inner ring. These teeth set into the locks around the head unit, but there is one more step to this.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5231_26_corsair_hydro_series_h90_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Once the ring and mounting legs are where you want them to be on the top side, flip over the head unit, and then clip in the locking ring with the four tabs found around the sides of it. Now these two pieces should be locked solid, and you are ready to continue.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5231_27_corsair_hydro_series_h90_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I took the four bottom and four top plastic components, and installed them with the lettering of 1155/1156 facing out on the bottom. Flipped around they work the AMD mounting as well as other Intel sockets. The top piece can only go in one way once the bottom part is right. Once together you slide in the thumbscrew, and the head unit is prepped for installation.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5231_28_corsair_hydro_series_h90_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Since I test with an Intel motherboard, I grabbed the Intel back plate and went ahead and stuck the two foam spacers in the cutouts that are made for them.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5231_29_corsair_hydro_series_h90_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Since all four corners have three holes, you need to look closely to see they are labeled 775, 1155 or 1366, and you need to slide in the metal inserts for the appropriate socket.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5231_30_corsair_hydro_series_h90_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

With the inserts in place, and the foam now against the motherboard, all I have to do is flip this over on the table, add some paste, and screw the head unit to the back plate. Because the corners support multiple sockets, the plate will sit askew from the socket, or crooked.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5231_31_corsair_hydro_series_h90_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I went ahead and mounted the H90 to my GIGABYTE motherboard with the fittings on the same side as the memory slots. As you can see, even trying to make things complicated, the H90 stays well clear of all four memory slots. Pretty much anything goes here for choice of sticks to populate these with.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5231_32_corsair_hydro_series_h90_aio_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Even as we step back a bit to take it all in, you can see there is no interference around the socket with the heat sinks either, and since the radiator is behind the rear I/O panel of the motherboard, it will have no issues mounting to the rear of the chassis for normal use. Now I just need to strap this all to my X-Frame and see what the H90 has in store for us.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below