TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,924 Reviews & Articles | 38,170 News Posts

Zalman MS800 ATX Mid-Tower Chassis Review - Accessories and Documentation

Zalman MS800 ATX Mid-Tower Chassis Review

It's time to make a new folder in our case database as we get sent our first case from Zalman - the MS800 mid-tower chassis.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 26, 2013 7:07 pm
TweakTown Rating: 83%      Manufacturer: Zalman

Accessories and Documentation

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5215_24_zalman_ms800_atx_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I had to dig around a bit, but I was able to locate all of the hardware. There is an 8-pin extension cable, a Zalman case badge and five wire ties. On the right is a pair of fan screws, seven standoffs, four PSU screws, and a handful of screws for the motherboard, optical drives and storage drives mounting.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5215_25_zalman_ms800_atx_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Also laying in the bottom of the case was this ZA9225ASL fan that is sent to be added onto the GPU support system. With the way it mounts, you can set this fan at almost any angle to allow users to put air where it is needed the most.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5215_26_zalman_ms800_atx_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The manual for the MS800 is also the manual that works on its sister case, the MS800 Plus. The manual is printed in black on plain white paper, and is a cost cutting measure that is well employed on something we use once and it sits in the box for ever after.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5215_27_zalman_ms800_atx_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

After a preamble and a specs chart, the manual jumps right into covering all of the included hardware on the left, but on the right it gets right into the control panel and below shows what each button, connection, or switch does, and even covers how the fan control dial works.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5215_28_zalman_ms800_atx_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

After showing me where the standoffs go, and showing me how to remove the expansion slot covers, the manual covers how to use the GPU support system. You can see they show the installation of the fan at the top half, leaving the bottom half to support three cards in the bottom half.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5215_29_zalman_ms800_atx_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I went ahead and mounted my SSD into one of the tray, but I flipped it over so you can see what it going on. While the top has taps on the sides for a floppy drive or card reader, under the tray you have eight holes drilled and marked for 2.5" and 3.5" drive installations.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5215_30_zalman_ms800_atx_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The support system comes with three of the support tabs installed on it already. The two at the right will be used to mount the 92mm fan in a moment, leaving four extra clips. In reality you can only run three heavy video cards in here, so essentially you have an extra clip if one should break. To use them, just unscrew the cap, put the stem into the gap in the long bar, and then screw the cap back on when the tab is where you want it to do its job.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases