TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,425 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

GIGABYTE X79S-UP5-Wi-Fi (Intel C606) Motherboard Review - GIGABYTE X79S-UP5-WiFi Motherboard

GIGABYTE X79S-UP5-Wi-Fi (Intel C606) Motherboard Review
It's been a while since we've looked at an X79 Express based motherboard, but this one from GIGABYTE is a little different since it uses the different Intel C606 chipset.
| Socket LGA 2011 in Motherboards | Posted: Feb 22, 2013 6:37 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

GIGABYTE X79S-UP5-WiFi Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5210_09_gigabyte_x79s_up5_wifi_intel_c606_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving away from the box and bundle we start to look at the motherboard which you can see above follows that typical UD5 / UP5 black and blue color scheme that we really love. You can see a strong heatsink setup being a high-end board.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5210_10_gigabyte_x79s_up5_wifi_intel_c606_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking above you can see we've got a single PCIe x1 slot and an older legacy PCI slot. Along with those two we've also got four PCIe x16 slots that run in an x16 / x8 / x4 / x16 configuration supporting both 3-way SLI and CrossFireX.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5210_11_gigabyte_x79s_up5_wifi_intel_c606_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading across the bottom we can see the normal line up of headers including a front audio, 1394 Firewire, TPM, three USB 2.0 ports and front panel header. There is also a pair of fan headers and a reset switch situated in the bottom right hand corner.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5210_12_gigabyte_x79s_up5_wifi_intel_c606_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Turning the corner you can see a massive line up of SATA ports with a grand total of 14 being seen. Towards the top we've got two SATA III in white and four SATA II in black running off the Intel chipset. Across the bottom we've got a total of eight SAS ports running off the Intel C606 controller which gives us support for RAID 0, RAID 1, RAID 5 and RAID 10. The addition of the SAS ports is one of the main added features that is brought to the C606 chipset over the standard X79 chipset.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5210_13_gigabyte_x79s_up5_wifi_intel_c606_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading towards the top of the board you can see four of the eight total RAM slots that are present on the board. We've got support for up to 64GB of DDR3 ranging from 1066MHz to 2133MHz DDR. Towards the bottom left hand side you can see a front panel USB 3.0 header while next to that we have the main 24-pin ATX power connector. And finally over to the far right corner you can see a power button present.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5210_14_gigabyte_x79s_up5_wifi_intel_c606_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5210_15_gigabyte_x79s_up5_wifi_intel_c606_motherboard_review.jpg

 

As we move further back you can see the 8-pin CPU power connector sitting across the top of the board behind one of the heatsinks. You can also see the other four DIMM on the left hand side of the motherboard. The CPU area itself is fairly clean with little being seen around it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5210_16_gigabyte_x79s_up5_wifi_intel_c606_motherboard_review.jpg

 

We've got the typical PS/2 combo port along with a total of five USB 2.0 connectors. We've got an OC switch that's present which we'll cover in the overclocking side of things while below that we've got a button that lets us switch between BIOS 1 and BIOS 2. And below that we've got a small little black button that resets the BIOS if anything goes wrong.

 

Continuing to move across we've got a 1394a Firewire port running off the VIA VT6308 chip. We've a combo USB / eSATA port along with an eSATA III port that runs off the Marvell 88SE9172 chip. Four USB 3.0 ports are present that run off the VIA VL800 chip and above them we've got two Gigabit networking ports. One runs of the Intel chip while the other uses the Realtek one. Finally we finish off with five auxiliary audio ports and an optical out that run off the ALC898.

 

While normally we'd head straight into the BIOS, we want to cover the C606 chipset a little closer since this is the first time we've used a board that makes use of it. As we mentioned just earlier, this is a server version of the X79 chipset, and as such offers a few extras, which can be seen below.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5210_17_gigabyte_x79s_up5_wifi_intel_c606_motherboard_review.png

 

Max TDP is slightly higher along with a slightly different PCIe configuration being available. The other few main differences refer to some of the Intel technologies that are more focused on the server side of things - Intel Trusted Execution Technology, vPro Technology and Active Management Technology.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases