TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,675 Reviews & Articles | 36,068 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

NZXT Respire T40 CPU Cooler Review - NZXT Respire T40 CPU Cooler

The larger brother from the Respire series is up for testing. Let's see what the Respire T40 can do.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 21, 2013 10:39 am
TweakTown Rating: 75%      Manufacturer: NZXT

NZXT Respire T40 CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5138_08_needs_images_nzxt_respire_t40_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Out of the packaging and looking right into the face of the T40, you can see that even with a slightly wider fin array the 120mm fan does a good job of covering a good percentage of those fins.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5138_09_needs_images_nzxt_respire_t40_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

From the side the T40 is a bit deeper than the T20 was; this allows the air flow to have the chance to grab more heat as it travels from the front to the back.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5138_10_needs_images_nzxt_respire_t40_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Looking at the back of the T40 you can see two things. First of all the fins are offset on a slight angle, and to recover a flat top, they use an additional half of a fin to make up for the angle. The second thing is that the edges are designed with shapes to help create turbulence in the high flow areas, and leave gaps where the lower air flow is to try to help things along.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5138_11_needs_images_nzxt_respire_t40_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

On this side I want to discuss how tight of a fit it is for the four 8mm heat pipes at the bottom of the cooler. I also wanted to mention that the sides of the T40 are designed to allow for two fans to be mounted using the NZXT fan mounts, and there is an extra set included.

 

On the top of the T40 you can see that the pipes have changed from side to side layout into an offset pattern to allow them to fit easier and offers two profiles to cool versus one if they were in a straight line. You can also see the half fin and how it is bent to meet the angled one in the middle by the embossed NZXT name.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5138_13_needs_images_nzxt_respire_t40_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Moving to the opposite end of the T40, we see an aluminium base plate that allows for the mounting hardware to keep pressure on the coolers heat pipes. Speaking of the heat pipes, just like in the T20, they use epoxy to mount the aluminium top plate.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5138_14_needs_images_nzxt_respire_t40_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

This is just to show that each of the 48.5 fins in this tower are all pressed onto the heat pipes and are fit very tightly against the pipes.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5138_15_needs_images_nzxt_respire_t40_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Before you do anything with the T40 as far as mounting it or adding any thermal compound, make sure you remove the clear sticker that is currently protecting the surface from oxidation.

 

The box we first saw when we opened the top of the packaging has a full assortment of hardware included. Also note that the box isn't all that full, so if the cooler was to get dropped, the hardware isn't going to be slamming into the cooler either.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5138_17_needs_images_nzxt_respire_t40_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Here is a look at the second T40's base. Here you can see that with four 8mm pipes laid across this small base, they did a good job of getting them all in there. There are pretty obvious gaps, but the milled surface is level.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5138_18_needs_images_nzxt_respire_t40_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Here is the base of the original T40, and why I emailed NZXT. This is due to the cooler compressing the inner packaging, and running into a stud on the mounting hardware. I didn't think this cooler would perform that well, and is why I requested another. As we mentioned, NZXT is looking into ways to prevent this from happening.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below