TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,213 Reviews & Articles | 40,209 News Posts

NZXT Respire T20 CPU Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

NZXT brings forth a couple of wallet friendly coolers with its new Respire Series of coolers. Have a look at what the Respire T20 has in store.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 14, 2013 7:52 pm
TweakTown Rating: 83%Manufacturer: NZXT

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5134_20_nzxt_respire_t20_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I installed the back plate with the Intel tabs on the board for this Z68 motherboard, and the holes in the plate allow this to go on both ways with holes for the screws at both ends. Something to help you set the screws in the plate is the line across the head denoting the flat side of the screw to line up correctly in the back plate.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5134_21_nzxt_respire_t20_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Once the back plate is in place and the screws are in the board, you simply press on the black plastic risers and then set on the top plates. Arrows pointing in, I attached the top plates with the set of four thumbscrews until they stopped turning.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5134_22_nzxt_respire_t20_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

After applying TIM to each of the heat pipes and setting the cooler on the CPU, I then slid over the top bar that applies pressure to the cooler. Each end has a hole that lines up with the studs in the top plates and will allow you to screw the nuts down, again until they stop spinning.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5134_23_nzxt_respire_t20_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Looking down onto the Respire T20, you can really get a sense of just how thin this cooler really is. While the fan on the front does cover the hardware and needs to be off to install the cooler, the back side of the cooler leaves plenty of room to attach the 8-pin EPS cable.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5134_24_nzxt_respire_t20_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

From this angle you can see that the Respire T20 and the fan on the front sit much higher than my bare memory that I use. Not that this is an issue anyways, but you can easily use much taller memory with this cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5134_25_nzxt_respire_t20_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Here is why. Even if the fan were to sit lower, it is completely clear of all four of my DIMM slots and will absolutely allow for any size of heat sinks on the memory.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5134_26_nzxt_respire_t20_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

This last image is just the last in a series, the glamour shot if you will, before we release the hounds and push this cooler with everything we got.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases