TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,687 Reviews & Articles | 36,218 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Google/LG Nexus 4 Smartphone Review - the best smartphone in the world - Features

Google's latest flagship Nexus 4 smartphone gets reviewed, and we think it's the best Android smartphone yet.

| Phones in Mobile Devices | Posted: Nov 26, 2012 12:31 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: Google

Features

 

To put it bluntly - the Nexus 4 is one of the most feature-laden smartphones on the market. When you next talk about a "smartphone", the Nexus 4 should be at the top of this conversation. The iPhone 5 has some great specs, but feature-wise, it feels so lacking when compared to the beautifully wrapped world of Google.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5069_02_google_lg_nexus_4_smartphone_review_the_best_smartphone_in_the_world.png

 

Not only do we have the amazingly powerful GMail client, but we also have other Google-owned properties such as YouTube, Drive, Google+, and my personal browser of choice; Chrome. On top of this, Android 4.2 Jelly Bean has Google Now, which is more powerful than ever on the Nexus 4. It can show you local weather, traffic directions (and delays), live scores from your favorite sports team and even flight information. Google Now is one of the hidden gems of Android 4.1 and 4.2 Jelly Bean.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5069_03_google_lg_nexus_4_smartphone_review_the_best_smartphone_in_the_world.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5069_04_google_lg_nexus_4_smartphone_review_the_best_smartphone_in_the_world.png

 

The 8-megapixel camera on the back is a huge improvement over the original Nexus smartphone, and much better than the Galaxy S II's camera, and on par with the Galaxy S III's camera, too. I've taken some photos with the camera, and I'll provide a few here as examples, with a bunch more in the photos at the end of the review.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5069_10_google_lg_nexus_4_smartphone_review_the_best_smartphone_in_the_world.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5069_11_google_lg_nexus_4_smartphone_review_the_best_smartphone_in_the_world.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5069_12_google_lg_nexus_4_smartphone_review_the_best_smartphone_in_the_world.jpg

 

The Nexus 4 is plagued with the same "purple haze" issue that the iPhone 5 experiences, unfortunately.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5069_13_google_lg_nexus_4_smartphone_review_the_best_smartphone_in_the_world.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5069_14_google_lg_nexus_4_smartphone_review_the_best_smartphone_in_the_world.jpg

 

Next up we have some video tests using the Nexus 4 on both the front- and rear-facing cameras.

 

 

 

And finally we have some Panorama shots taken with the Nexus 4.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5069_23_google_lg_nexus_4_smartphone_review_the_best_smartphone_in_the_world.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5069_24_google_lg_nexus_4_smartphone_review_the_best_smartphone_in_the_world.jpg

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Mobile Devices content at our Mobile Devices reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below