TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,937 Reviews & Articles | 38,247 News Posts

Antec Take-4 Rackmount Chassis Review - Inside the Antec Take-4

While not for everyone, rackmount systems simplify your multicomputer installations and add security. Antec's Take-4 gets investigated.

| Other Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 21, 2012 7:46 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Antec

Inside the Antec Take-4

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_15_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

You aren't going to find a lot of bells and whistles inside of a rackmount case normally, but Antec did what they could to spice things up a bit. There is a cross bar at the top of the case that adds strength to the case.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_16_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

Antec also build in a cooling duct for the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_17_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

The air duct is removable should you need to install a power supply that's larger than 6.5". Given the Extreme Edition processor, high volume of HDD/SSDs and high stress the system will run under we're using a big fat power supply so the air duct has to go.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_18_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

Here we see the dual case fans included with the Take-4. Both have three user selectable settings - High, Medium and Low. The case fans also use 4-pin Molex connectors and adapters for 3-pin motherboard headers are not included.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_19_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

The drive sleds have rubber grommets so your 3.5" HDDs are not in contact with any metal that can induce vibration and thus make additional noise.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_20_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

There are also two 3.5" internal bays that can be used for HDDs or other 3.5" devices like floppy drives.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_21_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

Finally there are dual 5.25" optical bays just above the air duct.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_22_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

As we mentioned the air duct is coming out and in this image, we can see it removed. The 5.25" bay will go back in after we mount the Icy Dock 6-in-1 SATA drive carrier.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases