TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,208 Reviews & Articles | 40,166 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will have 'just for PC' features, including a video editor

Antec Take-4 Rackmount Chassis Review - Inside the Antec Take-4

While not for everyone, rackmount systems simplify your multicomputer installations and add security. Antec's Take-4 gets investigated.

| Other Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 21, 2012 7:46 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Antec

Inside the Antec Take-4

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_15_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

You aren't going to find a lot of bells and whistles inside of a rackmount case normally, but Antec did what they could to spice things up a bit. There is a cross bar at the top of the case that adds strength to the case.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_16_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

Antec also build in a cooling duct for the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_17_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

The air duct is removable should you need to install a power supply that's larger than 6.5". Given the Extreme Edition processor, high volume of HDD/SSDs and high stress the system will run under we're using a big fat power supply so the air duct has to go.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_18_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

Here we see the dual case fans included with the Take-4. Both have three user selectable settings - High, Medium and Low. The case fans also use 4-pin Molex connectors and adapters for 3-pin motherboard headers are not included.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_19_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

The drive sleds have rubber grommets so your 3.5" HDDs are not in contact with any metal that can induce vibration and thus make additional noise.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_20_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

There are also two 3.5" internal bays that can be used for HDDs or other 3.5" devices like floppy drives.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_21_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

Finally there are dual 5.25" optical bays just above the air duct.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5051_22_needs_summary_antec_take_4_rackmount_chassis_review.jpg

 

As we mentioned the air duct is coming out and in this image, we can see it removed. The 5.25" bay will go back in after we mount the Icy Dock 6-in-1 SATA drive carrier.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases