TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,081 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Cooler Master Elite 120 Advanced M-ITX Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Cooler Master delivered the M-ITX Elite 120 Advanced, "ultra compact", small form factor chassis for us to try out. Let's have a look at what you can stuff inside.

| Small Form Factor Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 15, 2012 5:18 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%      Manufacturer: Cooler Master

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5033_26_cooler_master_elite_120_advanced_m_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing the front bezel to install the optical drive I found that none of the wiring is attached, and you also have easy access to the fan to clean it since there isn't a front dust filter. To remove the bay cover there are four clips to release and the cover slide out the inside of the bezel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5033_27_cooler_master_elite_120_advanced_m_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since this is the only time you will get this view inside of the chassis I thought I would get the board installed and run all of the wiring. I am really impressed with the ease that the Elite allows you to tend to all of the chassis wiring.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5033_28_cooler_master_elite_120_advanced_m_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

I then mounted the PSU extension bracket onto the back of my trusty Silverstone PSU that doesn't typically fit in builds such as this.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5033_29_cooler_master_elite_120_advanced_m_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the PSU in and everything wired and mounted tight, there is plenty of room for the PSU and its wiring, all the while still leaving room for the optical drive across from it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5033_30_cooler_master_elite_120_advanced_m_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the textured face of the optical drive matching the plastic and steel components of the chassis, I don't really miss the extra bit of aluminum dressing things up, nor does this look bad where the DVD drive takes away from the looks.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5033_31_cooler_master_elite_120_advanced_m_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Just to give you an idea of the space in here for video cards, I went ahead and threw in my 2.5 slot HIS Radeon HD 7950. Things are tight, but I had no issues completing the build with this card in place.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5033_32_cooler_master_elite_120_advanced_m_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Even in the back there are no issues to report. I did have to flex the fan grill a bit to slide in the PSU, but that was the only work required other than popping in the I/O shield and turning the screws to mount the video card.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5033_33_cooler_master_elite_120_advanced_m_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

On the right you can see I allowed the PSU to draw air in through the top and not off the CPU cooler. You can also see how the 80mm fan is very well placed to help keep the CPU area as cool as possible. Any extra wiring from the PSU or the front I/O can be hidden in the bottom of the hard drive bays as there is little room elsewhere to do so.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5033_34_cooler_master_elite_120_advanced_m_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once the top and sides were placed back on the chassis I had to have a look at how close the side was to the card. It's hard to see, but you are looking at the fan for the GPU while the shroud is resting directly against the side panel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5033_35_cooler_master_elite_120_advanced_m_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Taking a step back, I thought we should absorb the Elite 120 Advanced in its entirety one last time before we power it up for testing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5033_36_cooler_master_elite_120_advanced_m_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

When you power the Elite 120 Advanced you get the constant blue glow of the power LED with an occasional flicker of the blue drive activity light. Since I wasn't able to catch that flicker when it was on, I opted for the initial boot image with the optical drive still illuminated.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below