TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,436 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Spire TherMax Eclipse III "TME III" CPU Cooler Review - Accessories and Documentation

Spire tries to bring life to an old design and delivers the TherMax Eclipse III. Warning, it's not pretty.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jul 3, 2012 7:16 am
TweakTown Rating: 71%Manufacturer: Spire

Accessories and Documentation

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4802_16_spire_thermax_eclipse_iii_tme_iii_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The box found in the top of the packaging is where the extra fan for a push/pull configuration and all the hardware you are going to need, aside from a Y-splitter for the fan connection.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4802_17_spire_thermax_eclipse_iii_tme_iii_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Here is the universal backplate that is bare metal on the opposing side, but this side has a thin plastic film applied like a sticker to keep it from shorting out the motherboard. On the right and left are the AMD mounting holes and in the corners are the Intel holes.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4802_18_spire_thermax_eclipse_iii_tme_iii_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The AMD supports are on the far left and right. In the center are a set of four screws to set the brackets into the base of the cooler to secure them. I also received a set of thumbscrews that are too large for the threaded screws and these larger plastic washers. The manual shows I was supposed to get a sheet of stick on washers, but they were not to be found.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4802_19_spire_thermax_eclipse_iii_tme_iii_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Then I also was shipped this assortment of goodies. There are the mounting nuts with springs on the left, some BlueFrost grease, washers, retaining nuts, metal washers and the threaded rods run the center of the image. That leaves the six extra rubber fan mounts to have a couple spare as you mount the second fan with the other four.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4802_20_spire_thermax_eclipse_iii_tme_iii_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Of course we have the other seven bladed BlackStar 120mm fan that is also in the hardware box to complete the push/pull concept of the TME III design. Also if you didn't notice on the earlier images, the 4-pin connector is very close to the fan and isn't going to connect to a motherboard like this.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4802_21_spire_thermax_eclipse_iii_tme_iii_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

This is why Spire sends a pair of eight inch long braided cables that are male to female 4-pin extension cables. This is nice and all, but as the TME III is shipped you need two fan headers on the motherboard to work in sync to power this cooler as there is no Y-splitter to power this from the CPU FAN header.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4802_22_spire_thermax_eclipse_iii_tme_iii_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

There is a warranty card sent along with the cooler. On this side it explains what you receive when you register your product with Spire. On the back of this, as well as in the specs list, it shows that this cooler has a five year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4802_23_spire_thermax_eclipse_iii_tme_iii_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The whole manual is written as this look at the front of it shows. There are images of hardware and what to do for both AMD and Intel installations in tiny images at the top, while in eight languages, the instructions for each step take up all of the room.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4802_24_spire_thermax_eclipse_iii_tme_iii_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I sort of found this bit in the instructions to be a bit comical. With HDT cooler and a "œdrop" of TIM in the middle, I find the TIM never makes it to the outside, but gets channeled away in the grooves before it spreads across the IHS. I will continue to lay a thin line down each pipe, even if only three of them will touch my LGA1155 CPU.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases