TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,913 Reviews & Articles | 38,094 News Posts

Zalman CNPS14X Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler Review - Accessories and Documentation

Zalman enters with a new dual tower CPU cooler design with the single fan cooled CNPS14X Ultra Quiet cooler.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jun 28, 2012 6:36 am
TweakTown Rating: 80%      Manufacturer: Zalman

Accessories and Documentation

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4796_17_zalman_cnps14x_ultra_quiet_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The universal black plate works one of two ways. You put this side against the motherboard for Intel installations, but for AMD you flip the plate over and affix the other hardware for mounting.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4796_18_zalman_cnps14x_ultra_quiet_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

In this image are the loading block, the four side caps and the nuts on the left. In the center is a pair of universal "œclips" that also flip one way for AMD and the other for Intel installs. On the right is double sided tape and eight silver bolts, four for LGA2011 and four for the rest of the sockets with thinner shafts.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4796_19_zalman_cnps14x_ultra_quiet_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The last bit of the hardware kit includes the four wire fan clips for mounting additional, not included fans to the CNPS14X. You also get a Zalman sticker and a spanner, or on this side of the pond, a wrench for those silver bolts.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4796_20_zalman_cnps14x_ultra_quiet_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The user manual is very multi-lingual and if you pay close enough attention to the tiny images and follow the test really closely, you will eventually get both the brackets onto the base of the cooler correctly, as well as which way to orient the back plate. Either way, with the help the manual did have for this cooler, I eventually got the cooler installed correctly.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4796_21_zalman_cnps14x_ultra_quiet_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I mentioned that Zalman had sent a pair of fans so that I could do some three fan testing as well as how the cooler is shipped out of the box. They sent along a pair of black ZM-F4 fans, which are also 135mm in diameter.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4796_22_zalman_cnps14x_ultra_quiet_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The back of the packaging displays the features of the fan first and quickly moves into the specifications of these fans. At the bottom, there is an image of the rubber "œscrews" to mount this fan to a case and an image of how to do so.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4796_23_zalman_cnps14x_ultra_quiet_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

In both fan packages you get a set like this as accessories. There are the four grey rubber mounting mechanisms for the fans along with a low noise resistor to use if you would like. The fans are already supposed to be silent; I don't think I will be lessening any RPMs for my testing.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases