TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,934 Reviews & Articles | 38,226 News Posts

be quiet! Dark Rock 2 CPU Cooler Review - be quiet! Dark Rock 2 CPU Cooler

Our introduction to be quiet! cooling is with the Dark Rock 2. Ride shotgun as we acquaint ourselves with them and their CPU coolers.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jun 7, 2012 4:44 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: be quiet!

be quiet! Dark Rock 2 CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4751_07_be_quiet_dark_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Looking at the front of the Dark Rock 2, you can see the choice of the SilentWings 135mm fan is a great choice as it covers almost all of the surface area of the fins behind it.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4751_08_be_quiet_dark_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The sides are pretty square with just a groove to allow the thick wire fan mount to clip in here for mounting it. I'm sorry to say, but here isn't a dual fan mounting option unless you get creative with zip ties or rubber bands.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4751_09_be_quiet_dark_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

As for the back of the cooler, there isn't much spectacular with shaping or design, be quiet left as much material as possible here to increase the overall surface area, which should lead to a better performing cooler with less need for high air flow active cooling.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4751_10_be_quiet_dark_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The top of the cooler is a plate of brushed aluminum with crosshairs targeting the be quiet name in the center of the cooler. The caps aren't the actual pipe ends, but it does denote their offset pattern as they pass through the fins.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4751_11_be_quiet_dark_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

On the opposite end of the Dark Rock 2 you can see the six copper heat pipes as they make tight bends from the copper base to make it to the staggered orientation through the fins. Both the base and the pipes get an anti-oxidation coating of darkened nickel, which is also appealing to look at.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4751_12_be_quiet_dark_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I removed the protective sticker to have a look at the base and I found it is finely polished along with being flat across the majority of this surface. The edges do round over a bit near the edge that you mount hardware to, but it well past the IHS on my 2600K.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4751_13_be_quiet_dark_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Removing the fan allows you to get a look at the design of the leading edge. Each fin is cut with a V-notch and has a saw-toothed paten to them. That allows for the fan to have a bit more room to breathe and build pressure in the middle while the tips of the fins disturb the air to help transfer more heat out of the fins.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4751_14_be_quiet_dark_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

This is what I meant when I brought up the edges on these Silent Wings fans. As you can see, where the saw-toothed pattern touches this fan frame, the frame allows them to press into the frame eliminating vibrations.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases