TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,143 Reviews & Articles | 39,490 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

ARCTIC MC001-BD Entertainment Center PC with Blu-ray Player Review - MCR1 IR Media Center Remote Control

Want an HTPC that is sleek, silent and pretty much plug and play? Then we suggest you look at what the ARCTIC MC001-BD offers.

| Players & Accessories in HT & Movies | Posted: Jun 6, 2012 4:16 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: ARCTIC

MCR1 IR Media Center Remote Control

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_36_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

Entertainment at your fingertips is the line used to explain the need to have this MCR1 remote to use with the MC001-BD. This will work not only for Media Center, but you can use it like an old phone and text the keys for results in a browser or while on Facebook.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_37_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

On the back we get to see the entire IR remote with a small list of features just below it. Near the bottom is a list of specifications and the fact that batteries are again included with this product.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_38_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

The remote is fat at both ends with a slim spot in the middle that fits nicely in your hand as you navigate all of the keys. You have device keys at the top with a navigation pad and mouse functions just below. With the basic remote functions for TV navigation there is also an alphabet attached to allow you to also type from this remote control

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_39_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

On the back is the removable cover to allow you to install the pair of included batteries that come in the box.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_40_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

We get a set of the same 1300 mAh alkaline batteries that I received with the keyboard. I was about to go ahead and install these, but...

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_41_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

... on second thought I will use a pair from my own stock, these look a little too ill to do anyone any good.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4749_42_arctic_mc001_bd_entertainment_center_pc_with_blu_ray_player_review.jpg

 

The remote control guide comes in as many translations as does all the rest of the kit. They all show the 29 button layout and below are a list of each button and its function. Once you get used to this and the keyboard, navigating on the MC001-BD is a real breeze.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more HT & Movies content at our HT & Movies reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases