TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,917 Reviews & Articles | 38,119 News Posts

NZXT Source 210 Elite White Mid Tower Case Review - The Build and Finished Product

NZXT is now offering a budget minded chassis from their Classis Series in the Source 210 Elite - and in white!

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 7, 2011 6:23 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: NZXT

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4331_24_nzxt_source_210_elite_white_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Getting the DVD drive in was pretty simple. All you have to do is remove the bezel to gain access to the covers. Inside you will find two tabs that release so the cover can be set aside. Then you just slide the drive in and lock the pins on the tool-less clip.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4331_25_nzxt_source_210_elite_white_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Since the inside of the case is white, I tried a bit harder to make the wiring as hidden and properly managed as I could to allow as much white to show through as possible. I am pleased with the amount of space that was around the chassis to allow me to be able to install this much hardware with relative ease and very little face time with a screwdriver.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4331_26_nzxt_source_210_elite_white_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Even the rear of the Source 210 Elite takes on an attractive look with the black PSU filling the lower hole, the way the black nickel plating of the cards match the black covers, even the splash of color on the I/O, it all plays very well against the white backdrop.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4331_27_nzxt_source_210_elite_white_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

With twenty0one points to tie to and six holes for managing and routing the cables I took much more time to detail even the rear of the motherboard tray. Now realistically, I spent 30-45 minutes planning and wiring the back of the tray and feel that with very little effort and a bunch more wire ties than provided, you can get clean results like I did.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4331_28_nzxt_source_210_elite_white_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

This image is just because it turned out well and I liked the play on the angle of view. If you look closely you can also see the ventilation slits in the front bezel that will allow for the front intake of air.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4331_29_nzxt_source_210_elite_white_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Closing up the doors and replacing the thumbscrews is easy with the Source 210 Elite. There aren't any wires to get in the way on this side, but I still added a large cooler and didn't have issues with the 160mm of room to clear a CPU cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4331_30_nzxt_source_210_elite_white_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

In the back, that 20mm of space provided offered me plenty of room for the mess I left behind the Tempest. Once I straightened things out back here, the panel went back on as if it knew where it was supposed to go.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4331_31_nzxt_source_210_elite_white_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Just in case you miss it in the next shot, once powered up, the Source 210 Elite only produces this for lighting. The larger power button is surrounded with a light that denotes PC power. The reset button, the smaller one below, is not only surrounded but also centered with LED backlighting denoting the HDD activity.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4331_32_nzxt_source_210_elite_white_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Stepping back to take it all in one last time, you can see that much like the Tempest I just looked at, the subtle lighting is a welcomed thing for many builders who keep the PC in their bedroom. Don't get me completely wrong, when done right, lighting can be a very cool effect, but if you aren't going all out, I much prefer this simpler more subdued approach.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases