TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,080 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Corsair HX1050 1050 Watt Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

Corsairs HX1050 proves to be a worthy addition to the Professional series of power supplies.

| Other PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jul 19, 2011 2:08 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%      Manufacturer: Corsair

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4195_08_corsair_hx1050_1050_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Sliding things out of the box, we find that the power supply is well protected by lots of foam and everything is snugly in place so that it doesn't slide around.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4195_09_corsair_hx1050_1050_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Removing the power supply from its felt bag reveals a familiar matte black finish as we've seen with many of Corsair's PSUs. On top of the HX1050 sits the I/O specification label.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4195_10_corsair_hx1050_1050_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Both sides bear the Corsair logo and HX1050 identification.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4195_11_corsair_hx1050_1050_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Turning things towards the front, we find the modular connections. Native cables entering the power supply go all the way inside the unit and are well protected by the grommet in the opening.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4195_12_corsair_hx1050_1050_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

At the back we find a massive toggle switch and the standard honeycomb mesh grill that allows for hot air to be vented from the unit.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4195_13_corsair_hx1050_1050_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Cooling the HX1050 is a 140mm fan with wire grill. The use of a non-standard grill looks great with the design of the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4195_14_corsair_hx1050_1050_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Plenty of modular cables are included with the HX1050. It is great of Corsair to realize that floppy connectors are not needed any more and simply include Molex to FDD adapters.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4195_15_corsair_hx1050_1050_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Also included in the box are the user manual, power cable, cable ties, mounting screws and a case badge.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below