TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,202 Reviews & Articles | 40,032 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Samsung wants the US government to block GeForce GPU shipments

LEPA G500-MA 500 Watt Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

We put LEPA through our PSU test gauntlet for the first time with the 500W G500-MA power supply.

| Other PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jun 3, 2011 3:34 am
TweakTown Rating: 86%Manufacturer: LEPA

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4132_07_lepa_g500_ma_500_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

This is how the G500-MA is packed inside the box. There isn't any foam or bubble wrap protecting the power supply and it is free to shift around in the box side to side.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4132_08_lepa_g500_ma_500_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

After pulling the G500-MA out of the box, we noticed that it was scratched in several places. We can't help but think that this could have easily been prevented if the power supply was packed better. On top of the PSU is where you will find the I/O specification label.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4132_09_lepa_g500_ma_500_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Both sides of the power supply display the same LEPA G500 logo.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4132_10_lepa_g500_ma_500_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The front of the G500-MA houses the modular connectors.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4132_11_lepa_g500_ma_500_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Taking a look at the back reveals a honeycomb mesh grill that is almost as unobstructed as possible with only the AC input, on/off switch and LEPA logo cluttering up the back.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4132_12_lepa_g500_ma_500_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The gold 140mm fan can be found on the bottom of the power supply with a wire mesh grill protecting it.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4132_13_lepa_g500_ma_500_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

After we had handled the power supply a couple times and were putting it back together from taking pictures, we noticed that the power supply also had a broken fan grill. While we can't say that better packaging would have prevented this from happening, it surely couldn't have hurt considering the scratches visible in a few pictures above.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases