TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,982 Reviews & Articles | 38,649 News Posts

NZXT Sentry Mesh 30W Fan Controller Review - The NZXT Sentry Mesh / 30W Mesh Faced Fan Controller

Perforated mesh with round holes has faced the front of many of the chassis' we have seen as of late. Not missing the opportunity, NZXT unveils the Sentry Mesh fan controller to blend right in.

| Fan Controllers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 28, 2011 7:06 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: NZXT

The NZXT Sentry Mesh / 30W Mesh Faced Fan Controller

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4118_05_nzxt_sentry_mesh_30w_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

When I removed the plastic wrapping I found the wiring all tied up and tidy behind the fan controller. Most of all, I noticed the small round mesh used to cover the face of the unit, and it will go well with quite a few of the cases I have reviewed already, not to mention those still in production.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4118_06_nzxt_sentry_mesh_30w_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

There are five sliders to adjust the fan speed for each of the five channels of the Sentry Mesh. The left slider will give a fan right around 11.93V average, while the third channel will provide about 4.7V in its current position.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4118_07_nzxt_sentry_mesh_30w_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

Looking at the Sentry Mesh from this angle, I could show off the little logo on the face plate much easier.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4118_08_nzxt_sentry_mesh_30w_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

These brass inserts, eight in total around the controller will allow for a snug fit in your case, while also not depending on the plastic to keep the threads over time. This will ensure a secure fit for a long time to come.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4118_09_nzxt_sentry_mesh_30w_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

Looking at the left side, you can see there is the matching set of four brass inserts as the right side had. You can also see that they made sure to wrap the edges of the case on this unit. Taking that extra step makes for a much better finished product.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4118_10_nzxt_sentry_mesh_30w_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

Behind the scenes I removed the wiring to allow you a much better view of the PCB and its components. There is an easy to follow layout of the 3-pin fan connections and the larger 3-pin power plug.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4118_11_nzxt_sentry_mesh_30w_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

At the point at which the wires leave the unit and enter the chassis, NZXT has not only wired them behind a clip to keep them in place. They also offer a pre-installed strain relief for these wires.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4118_12_nzxt_sentry_mesh_30w_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

Since I was already removing the wiring, it seemed the logical time to cover the connections. On the left are five 3-pin leads that supply the fans with power and are labeled 1 through 5. On the right is the 4-pin Molex to 3-pin power adapter to supply the Sentry with its power.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4118_13_nzxt_sentry_mesh_30w_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

While the unit was going through voltage testing, I am pleased to say that there is only a simple white LED on the right to notify you that the unit has power. While this unit is very nice to look at, I find the lack of bright LEDs across the panel very appealing.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases