TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,202 Reviews & Articles | 40,038 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Samsung wants the US government to block GeForce GPU shipments

Xigmatek Aegir SD128264 Double Layer HDT CPU Cooler - The Xigmatek Aegir SD128264 Double Layer H.D.T. CPU Cooler

Xigmatek digs deep into Norse mythology and releases the Sea God Aegir to cool the hottest CPUs.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 16, 2010 5:21 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Xigmatek

The Xigmatek Aegir SD128264 Double Layer H.D.T. CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3656_09.jpg

 

Removed from the packaging, my initial impression is that this reminds me of a really beefy S1283 cooler. It's been a while since we have seen an exposed cooper heatpipes and aluminum fin combination from Xigmatek, and I like that this reminds me of their roots. At the bottom it appears like three layers of heatpipes, but that is the 8mm pipes from the base running between the two 6mm pipes beside them, and the two on the top. All six of these pipes with their "u" shape extend upwards and through forty-eight aluminum fins.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3656_10.jpg

 

From the side you see the folds made on the end of each of the fins. These perform two duties. One is to keep the spacing of the fins at their optimal position. Secondly they deflect the air typically lost out the side of most tower coolers. When cooling this many fins and the high density grouping of the heatpipes in the Aegir, every bit of airflow you can get is needed.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3656_11.jpg

 

As you can see with the Aegir, the six pipes travel up both sides and are kept behind the blades of the fans and out of the centre "dead zone". The shape of the fins reminds me of the Balder but a bit less exaggerated and without the cuts into the sides. This should eliminate the loss as i described and help the Aegir perform a bit better.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3656_12.jpg

 

Let's go over the base design one more time. There is a total of six heatpipes attached to the aluminium base plate. The two on the top are 6mm in diameter and are bent as needed to travel through the fins. Under the aluminium are four more pipes. The two in the middle are 8mm thick and are paired with two 6mm thick pipes, one on either side of the 8mm pipes. If you look closely, the holes in the outer edge of the aluminium aren't threaded. This is the first indication that Xigmatek has something else up their sleeve with the Aegir.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3656_13.jpg

 

The base and heatpipes are assembled, and then the whole base is milled at once. With most other HDT coolers from Xigmatek, while the pipes are flat and level, there are valleys between each pipe and the aluminum base. For the cooler to work at its best, I fill the valleys in the base first, and applied a thin layer of compound to the IHS. I tried a few other methods, but that is what seemed to get the best results for my testing.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3656_14.jpg

 

Here are both fans sitting side by side. The one on the left and that has the 12M ending in the part number is the fan included with the Aegir and has a 4-pin PWM connection on the end. The one on the right is the 12L version, and from what I can gather, the only difference is the connection being a 3-pin on this one. When I tested both fans separately the results were too similar for the 20 CFM difference the site information shows.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3656_15.jpg

 

While the Aegir looks thick with the two fans strapped to it, in actuality, the Aegir is much thinner than the Thor's hammer was in this configuration. This will allow for better clearance to the memory area on the motherboard and allow you to use memory with taller heat spreaders.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3656_16.jpg

 

As I mentioned, as you look down the barrel of the gun, you can see that the heatpipes are set to take the most advantage they can from the fans. In combination with the forty-eight aluminum fins, and two fans, the Aegir shows a lot of promise.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3656_17.jpg

 

I just wanted to get the cooler form a better angle so you can appreciate all of the features in one setting. Now let's look at something that surprised me with the Aegir.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases