TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,979 Reviews & Articles | 38,637 News Posts

Foxconn A88GM Deluxe (AMD 880G) Motherboard - BIOS and Overclocking

Now that we have taken AMD's 890FX and GX for a spin, we take a look at the new 880G chipset to see where it falls.

| Socket AM3/AM3+ in Motherboards | Posted: Jun 30, 2010 1:44 pm
TweakTown Rating: 85%      Manufacturer: Foxconn

BIOS

 

The BIOS on the Foxconn board is not the most complex. It is simple and in its own way clean. We were a little surprised at the voltage options. Instead of being direct input they were offset only. For many this might be confusing, especially new comers to the overclocking world.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3374_12.jpg

 

All of your overclocking features are in the Fox Central Control Unit.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3374_13.jpg

 

In the Intelligent Stepping page we find the controls for the frequencies available on the A88GM Deluxe.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3374_14.jpg

 

Again the voltage options are not what the average enthusiast or overclocker would want. Offset can be tricky and there are a limited number of options available.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3374_15.jpg

 

The CPU configuration is pretty easy to grasp.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3374_16.jpg

 

The Advanced Chipset Features page has all of the memory tweaks including the memory settings for the IGP.

 


Overclocking

 

Our overclocking time with the Foxconn A88GM Deluxe was both easy and confusing. For some reason if we pushed the bus over 240 the board would automatically drop the multiplier to 4. Nothing we did would change this. At 241 the system would kick back to a 4x multi. So in the end our final clock was 240x16 for a 3.84GHz OC. The board was perfectly stable at this speed, you would probably be able to run at this speed 24/7 to be honest.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3374_17.png

 

You can see the validation for the Phenom II X6 on the A88GM Deluxe here.

 


Fox One

 

The included overclocking software is not one of our favorites. In fact is it probably one of the cheesiest we have seen. It is limited and not very good at pushing the system.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3374_18.png

 

The auto overclocking functions have multiple warnings about overclocking but in the end only got us to 3.3GHz stable.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3374_19.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3374_20.png

 

As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary. Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases