TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,004 Reviews & Articles | 38,750 News Posts

Cooler Master USP 100 (RC-P100-RKR1) Mid Tower Case - The Build and Finished Product

On a budget for a new gaming build? Cooler Master's USP 100 might just be the budget friendly case of choice.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 27, 2010 4:06 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Cooler Master

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3308_25.jpg

 

Adding drives to the front does detract from the flow of the red mash, but not enough to make me dislike it. Still attractive, especially if you like red!

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3308_26.jpg

 

In most mid towers I dread cutting myself or having to fight to install my goods, but it just wasn't the case here. I got a full ATX board and a GTS 250 crammed in there with no issues, but as you can see longer graphics cards may not fit without a mod or two. The wire holders do their job, and while not the sexiest wire job to look at, they do stay out of the way of what air flow is inside the USP 100 out of the box.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3308_27.jpg

 

Here we have the rear again with the card and motherboard in place.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3308_28.jpg

 

With the bulk of the wiring, the 24-pin, GPU power lines and the SATA power line all strapped up front, it left the back very clean. I was able to wire the 8-pin CPU power wire and the front I/O wiring behind the tray, and the rest got run through the tray and laid on the floor behind the drive bays. Couldn't have been easier really!

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3308_29.jpg

 

Something I completely missed at first when I noticed the HDD activity light and no power LED. This would be why. The USP 100 uses a Knight Rider inspired light setup for this chassis. While the lights don't go left to right, it does pulsate from right to dim.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3308_30.jpg

 

With only one supplied fan, the only other LED lighting to be found is in that fan. With the lights turned really low I was able to get this image. When the lights are on in the room, it is hard to see the red LED through the red mesh.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3308_31.jpg

 

One last image; taking a step back to absorb it all again!

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases