TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,934 Reviews & Articles | 38,226 News Posts

Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced Mid Tower Case - Inside the Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced Mid Tower Case

A lot of hype has proceeded the arrival of the CM 690 II Advanced chassis from Cooler Master. Let's have a look and see what all the hype is about.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 14, 2010 4:16 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%      Manufacturer: Cooler Master

Inside the Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced Mid Tower Case

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3281_14.jpg

 

Taking the panel off, we are greeted with a hardware box strapped to the HDD rack, a bundle of wires or three, and a bunch of black.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3281_15.jpg

 

All the drives can be used tool-less. Cooler Master does offer screws for a more secure fit, too, but honestly, they aren't needed. The four 5.25" bays work with a simple switch, flip it like a light switch in either the open or lock positions. The six bay 3.5" drive rack uses locking "sleds" to hold the hard drives in place; again, no screws needed.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3281_16.jpg

 

The motherboard area is labeled for easy installation of the risers for each type of board. There is a large cut out for CPU cooler back plate access and six well placed holes for wiring. At various places Cooler Master has punched out tabs; these will come into play later when we actually wire the back side.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3281_17.jpg

 

Inside we see that the eight expansion slot coves are held in with thumbscrews and are not vented. I would have loved to have seen a tool-less mechanism here, but hey, we can't have everything for a hundred dollars, can we?

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3281_18.jpg

 

Wiring from the front I/O is plenty long enough to get them where they need to go. The rainbow of colors makes the cables easy to trace, but in an all black chassis they tend to really stick out.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3281_19.jpg

 

With the left door panel off it leaves a gap of about an inch to hide wiring behind the tray, there should be no issues fitting a 24-pin cable through here. The front I/O wiring comes all tied up, but you may need to undo it as I will to make thing go smoothly.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3281_21.jpg

 

To remove the hard drive assembly or to install any fans, you need to first remove the plastic screen. I simply got a fingernail under a corner and started to persuade it off.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3281_22.jpg

 

After removal of four screws underneath and three in the back, the rails on each side slide forward and can be taken out. This leaves enough room for two 3.5" sleds and offers room for a radiator or two fans by themselves.

 

TweakTown image content/3/2/3281_23.jpg

 

With the I/O up top, the front bezel comes free with no wiring attached. Simply tug it at the bottom and the tabs will release. I did find on the inside of the front bezel that the steel mesh is backed with another layer of screen; this can be removed and rinsed off for easy clean up.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases