TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,436 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

ASUS M4A89GTD Pro/USB3 (AMD 890GX) Motherboard - The Packaging

AMD release their new 890GX chipset complete with a full six SATA 3.0 ports and PCIe 2.0 lanes. We take a look to see what it brings to your AMD CPUs.

| Socket AM3/AM3+ in Motherboards | Posted: Mar 2, 2010 5:09 am
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: ASUS

Box and Contents

 

AMD provided us with an ASUS M4A89GTD Pro/USB3 for our 890GX testing. This board has more than a few nice features. Let's take a look at them now.

 

As with all of the new "Pro" boards from ASUS, we find the box to be an interesting contrast.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3160_02.jpg

 

The light green color is for AMD (as the blue is for Intel). We still have to deal with the large "medallion" on the front, but there are some nice logos to get our attention on the front of the box. The biggest one is the Core Unlocking ability. The handy feature allows some tri-core and even dual core Phenom II and Athlon II owners to open up additional cores on their CPUs.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3160_03.jpg

 

The back of the box goes into a little more detail about the major features and even provides a detailed image of the board and what you get with it

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3160_04.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3160_05.jpg

 

Inside the box is the usual compliment of goodies with two interesting exceptions. The first is a card and the second is a pair of SATA 3.0 cables.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3160_06.jpg

 

The SATA 3.0 cables look almost exactly like a typical SATA II cable with the exception of the split and the white plastic "label" on them. They almost look like some of the early SAS cables I have seen, without the power and extra three pins that is.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3160_07.jpg

 

The included card is odd and says it is needed for full x16 single card mode. What is odd is that it says you need to put this in the "black" PCIe x16 slot, but as you will see below there is no black slot on the board.

 

TweakTown image content/3/1/3160_08.jpg

 

However, if you check the manual it does explain which slot they mean; it is the top x16 slot (the grey one). This is only needed to get full x16 performance from the lower blue slot, but even without the card in place the slot will work, but it will just be limited to x8.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases