TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,454 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

SilverStone Raven RV02-BW Case - The Build and Finished Product

We've looked at the original twist on chassis' with the RV01. This time we get to look at the RV02 chassis and see what is different this time round.

| Other Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 11, 2010 3:35 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: SilverStone

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3095_26.jpg

 

Getting down to business, I had to remove the front plastic panel. If I recall there were some screws holing this in place that needed removed prior to the release of the panel. Each bay is covered and has a removable panel to allow access to either the optical drive placement or front removal of the hard drive tray. In the plastic itself, each of the eight slots is easily removed just by unlocking the tabs on either side.

 

Removing some thumb screws allows the cage to be removed. With rubber washers and special screws, the drives hang in a sort of suspension. In this cage there is only room for three drives, and the cage is currently oriented as it needs to go into the RV02.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3095_28.jpg

 

One last shot of the front of the RV02 before I close it up. As you can see the drive cage is back in place, and just for giggles I put the Optical drive just above it.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3095_29.jpg

 

And here it is all closed up and ready to go!

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3095_30.jpg

 

With about an hour and a half of my time, and what I would guess now as maybe fifty zip ties, I was able to keep the wiring neat and tidy, even with a non-modular power supply. You can see I bunched the wiring pretty thick, and I had no problems placing on the rear panel.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3095_31.jpg

 

From the top, with everything installed, you can see the PSU gets good room to breathe, and the rest of the top allows for all the components to use the airflow from the three 180mm fans, while still allowing the overflow of air to sneak out around the components.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3095_32.jpg

 

With all the components installed I found I am missing two things that the RV01 had. One of which, I really liked, which was the hot swappable HDD bays. It is sadly missed. The second is the support bar for the expansion slots. Depending on the cooler used in the RV01, it made the bar dysfunctional, so it isn't so sorely missed. Aside from what's missing I was still left with a very clean looking install for my wiring effort.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3095_33.jpg

 

Once I added the power cord and flicked the switch the Raven kicked into action. As you can see the PSU fan is glowing its blue LED through the provided hole. All that's left is to snap in the filter and turn it around.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3095_34.jpg

 

The only lighting that emanates from the front is found in the clear chevron at the top. Two blue LEDs show the system power while a red LED in the middle indicates HDD activity.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3095_35.jpg

 

With the panel back in place and everything up and running, you are left with a very nice view of your components. With more time and effort and a better choice of power supply, the options of wiring and cleanliness are endless, and you are left with a very sexy finished product.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases