Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,686 Reviews & Articles | 45,711 News Posts

G.Skill Falcon II 64GB 2.5-inch Solid State Disk - The G.Skill Falcon II


By: | SSDs in Storage | Posted: Nov 26, 2009 4:28 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: G.Skill

The G.Skill Falcon II

 

content/3/0/3025_06.jpg

 

Not much has changed on the outside for the Falcon Series; the Falcon II looks nearly identical to the first Falcon we reviewed months ago.

 

content/3/0/3025_07.jpg

 

The back of the drive has all of the model and serial number information as well as some performance numbers.

 

content/3/0/3025_08.jpg

 

The side of the drive has all of the standard mounting locations that we are accustomed to seeing.

 

content/3/0/3025_09.jpg

 

Let's move on to the inside of the drive.

 

content/3/0/3025_10.jpg

 

Here we get a good look at the Intel 34nm flash memory used in the Falcon II. The 64GB drive uses only a single stack of flash.

 

content/3/0/3025_11.jpg

 

Being only a 64GB drive, only half of the board is used to hold memory. The 128GB drive populates both sides and the 256GB drive populates both sides with double stacked flash.

 

content/3/0/3025_12.jpg

 

Here we see the new ECO variant of the Barefoot controller with the 64MB cache module. At the top right you can also see the jumper pins that are sometimes used to flash the firmware of the drive.

 

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Australia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at PLE Computer's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.



    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Or Scroll Down