Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,521 Reviews & Articles | 43,886 News Posts
TweakTown's Computex Taipei 2015 Coverage direct from Taipei, Taiwan - ALL STORIES!

G.Skill Falcon II 64GB 2.5-inch Solid State Disk - The G.Skill Falcon II

G.Skill has just announced a new family of its Falcon series SSDs. Chris has his hands on a sample & takes the time to see where the improvements are.

By: | SSDs in Storage | Posted: Nov 26, 2009 4:28 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: G.Skill

The G.Skill Falcon II

 

content/3/0/3025_06.jpg

 

Not much has changed on the outside for the Falcon Series; the Falcon II looks nearly identical to the first Falcon we reviewed months ago.

 

content/3/0/3025_07.jpg

 

The back of the drive has all of the model and serial number information as well as some performance numbers.

 

content/3/0/3025_08.jpg

 

The side of the drive has all of the standard mounting locations that we are accustomed to seeing.

 

content/3/0/3025_09.jpg

 

Let's move on to the inside of the drive.

 

content/3/0/3025_10.jpg

 

Here we get a good look at the Intel 34nm flash memory used in the Falcon II. The 64GB drive uses only a single stack of flash.

 

content/3/0/3025_11.jpg

 

Being only a 64GB drive, only half of the board is used to hold memory. The 128GB drive populates both sides and the 256GB drive populates both sides with double stacked flash.

 

content/3/0/3025_12.jpg

 

Here we see the new ECO variant of the Barefoot controller with the 64MB cache module. At the top right you can also see the jumper pins that are sometimes used to flash the firmware of the drive.

 

Click the banner below to learn more about SanDisk SSDs:

PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.

 

United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

Australia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at PLE Computer's website.

Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.

 



Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Or Scroll Down