TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,093 Reviews & Articles | 39,118 News Posts

ASRock P55 Deluxe Lynnfield Motherboard - BIOS and Overclocking

With Lynnfield out, the question of which motherboard you should use for your new 1156 CPU comes to mind. The ASRock P55 Deluxe could be the answer.

| Socket LGA 1156 in Motherboards | Posted: Sep 16, 2009 6:05 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: ASRock

BIOS

 

As with the ASRock X58 Extreme, the BIOS on the P55 Deluxe is pretty straight forward. It will look familiar to ASUS owners as it follows the same lines as the typical ASUS BIOS.

 

ASRock provided me with an early version of the P130 BIOS. This BIOS is available for use as of this writing and I would recommend upgrading as soon as you get the board.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2924_16.jpg

 

The layout is pretty much the same as all other ASUS and ASRock motherboards. The one place in the BIOS you will spend the most time in is the OC Tweaker page. Here you have all the performance options to setup your overclocking or just to tweak the performance of your system at stock speeds.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2924_17.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2924_18.jpg

 

There are also a few settings under the "Advanced" tab that might be of interest.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2924_19.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2924_20.jpg

 

Generally the ASRock BIOS for the P55 is simple to move through. Even a beginning user can find their way through fairly easily.

 


Overclocking

 

As we showed in our Lynnfield review, overclocking the Core i7 and Core i5 was a breeze. The ASRock P55 Deluxe makes it very simple to get some rather good clocks. You can use the OC Tweaker to adjust the BCLK to 202, adjust the voltage and RAM divider as well as a number of other settings.

 

This utility enabled me to reach 4030MHz on the Core i7 870 completely stable. At that speed I was able to run all of our tests back to back without any issue and even found myself running a little over on the gaming sessions.

 

For the Core i5 we did pretty much the same thing except I pushed the multiplier to 21. This netted us a very nice 4.2GHz overclock on the Core i5 750 - this is roughly a 59% overclock and not bad at all for taking only three minutes to get going.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2924_64.png

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2924_65.png

 

You can see the validation for the i7 870 here while the i5 750 is here.

 

I am confident that with better cooling and some tweaking, you would be able to get much higher with both of these CPUs.

 

As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use your results may vary.
Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 


Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases