Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,683 Reviews & Articles | 45,685 News Posts
We are looking for a US-based news reporter, join our awesome team!

Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus CPU Cooler - Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus CPU Cooler


By: | CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 4, 2009 5:05 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Cooler Master

Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus CPU Cooler

 

content/2/9/2904_07.jpg

 

In similarity to the original, Cooler Master keeps the same base design with a slight change up on top. This hole and pin are part of the new mounting hardware I will show in a bit. The 212 Plus also keep the offset layout of the pipes as they travel through the fins. The major difference is the fin design itself. This time around, all the fins are one piece, adding plenty of added surface area to aid in more efficient cooling.

 

content/2/9/2904_08.jpg

 

The aluminum fins are pressed on over the four, 6mm diameter heat-pipes. These fins are open on the ends and have two grooves cut into the ends to allow for two sets of the wire fan mounts so you may utilize a push-pull cooling method if desired.

 

content/2/9/2904_09.jpg

 

Laying the Hyper 212 Plus on its side you can see the fins are stamped with the Cooler Master logo in the center. Also in the stamping there is a hint of the two separated towers of the past. The fins are also cut taller on the sides and shorter in the middle to keep the correct spacing of the fan before the flow enters over the fins.

 

content/2/9/2904_10.jpg

 

The base of the Hyper 212 Plus is a little rough by usual standards. The pipes are flat with each other, which is what really matters, but the spaces between are quite, well spacious. The typical glob in the center of the IHS isn't going to work so well here, I suggest you do a bit of spreading first.

 

content/2/9/2904_11.jpg

 

The back of this 78.9 CFM fan has little rubber pads in the corners to isolate the fins from any vibrations. The fan itself utilizes seven oddly shaped fins that at the same RPM of the original can offer a bit more airflow.

 

content/2/9/2904_12.jpg

 

Once the fan was put into place I could see that is overlaps the fins both top and bottom, and gets good coverage of most of the fin surface area.

 

content/2/9/2904_13.jpg

 

The wire fan mounting is easily done, just set the ends in the fan holes and slide it into the groove with the little handles.

 

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Australia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at PLE Computer's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.



    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Or Scroll Down