TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,202 Reviews & Articles | 40,038 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Samsung wants the US government to block GeForce GPU shipments

MSI Z68A-GD80 (Intel Z68) Motherboard Preview

We give you a sneak peek of the MSI Z68 based Z68A-GD80 motherboard. What's on offer from this new motherboard?

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: May 7, 2011 10:21 am
Manufacturer: MSI

Introduction

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4067_02_msi_z68a_gd80_intel_z68_motherboard_preview.jpg

 

We're still a good couple of days away before we can lift the curtain on the new Z68 chipset and with another one arriving we thought we'd give you a quick look at what's going on with the new chipset from MSI.

 

Unlike ASRock, MSI doesn't have any of the boards listed on its website, so where this sits amongst the others, how many they'll offer and all that kind of stuff, we're not 100% sure yet.

 

Knowing MSI, though, the Z68A-GD80 we're looking at today will no doubt be one of the higher end boards as it carries with it some pretty cool features. So let's get started and check out the bundle that MSI has got going on.

 

The Package

 

There's four main bits to the box of the MSI Z68A-GD80 and there's just an absolute bucket load of information on offer. The front gives us a bit of information, but the highlights are the "Military Class II" and "OC Genie II" features. The back then goes on to explain some of those features in more detail and tells us about a few other smaller ones on offer.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4067_03_msi_z68a_gd80_intel_z68_motherboard_preview.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4067_04_msi_z68a_gd80_intel_z68_motherboard_preview.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4067_05_msi_z68a_gd80_intel_z68_motherboard_preview.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4067_06_msi_z68a_gd80_intel_z68_motherboard_preview.jpg

 

Moving back to the front, you're able to flip the box open and then see even more features on offer, while the bottom part of the box gives you a look at the motherboard and highlights some of the main features on the actual board.

 

It's just a really informative box, but more importantly it gets you excited about what's on offer from the board and what it's capable of. Unfortunately we won't be looking at the performance side of things today, but instead that will come after the NDA is lifted.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4067_07_msi_z68a_gd80_intel_z68_motherboard_preview.jpg

 

Inside we've got a bunch of paperwork related to the motherboard along with a Driver CD and I/O back plate. Also in the top right you'll see some little cables and another manual; this relates to a feature that gives you the ability to measure the voltage of certain points on the board. We'll talk about this more a little later.

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4067_08_msi_z68a_gd80_intel_z68_motherboard_preview.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/0/4067_09_msi_z68a_gd80_intel_z68_motherboard_preview.jpg

 

Rounding out the rest of the package, we've got eight SATA cables, two Molex to SATA, SLI bridge cable and a dual USB 3.0 header. All in all, we've got a very strong package going on that gives us a bunch of goodies that you'll no doubt be making good use of.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases