TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,915 Reviews & Articles | 38,111 News Posts

GIGABYTE G1 Assassin (Intel X58 Express) Motherboard Preview

At CES GIGABYTE launched a new line of gaming motherboards. Now we have the first and top of this line in the lab. Meet the G1 Assassin!

| Socket LGA 1366 in Motherboards | Posted: Feb 28, 2011 6:07 am
Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

TweakTown image content/3/8/3877_01_gigabyte_g1_assassin_intel_x58_express_motherboard_preview.jpg

 

Introduction

 

Back during CES we were given the chance to see the launch of a very exciting product. This was the G1 Killer series. From the beginning of the event you could pretty much tell this was going to be something a little different from the norm. Whether it was the pretend military dress or the little leaks about the product that I had heard, I was really looking forward to see this one.

 

Now a month or so later, we actually have one of these boards in the lab. It is an impressive sight to see and one that we are happy to give you a little teaser on. This is the G1 Assassin, an X58 based monster with multiple USB 3.0 ports, SATA 3.0 ports, a true audio card by Creative built right onto the board and a Killer Nic to add to the fun.

 

So let's take a quick look at the new GIGABYTE G1 Assassin before we put this monster on the test bench.

 

 

Package and Contents

 

The G1 Assassin comes in a nice box that looks like an ammo can. Granted, a very flat ammo can made from cardboard. But the effect is still there and one that gives you the right impression. This is a first person shooter oriented motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3877_02_gigabyte_g1_assassin_intel_x58_express_motherboard_preview.jpg

 

The "back" of the ammo can that the G1 Assassin comes in has some more detailed information and a nice picture of the board.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3877_03_gigabyte_g1_assassin_intel_x58_express_motherboard_preview.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3877_04_gigabyte_g1_assassin_intel_x58_express_motherboard_preview.jpg

 

Following the now almost annoying tradition of putting one box inside the other (and then another), we find first a camouflaged box then two inside that which contain what you are really looking for.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3877_05_gigabyte_g1_assassin_intel_x58_express_motherboard_preview.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3877_06_gigabyte_g1_assassin_intel_x58_express_motherboard_preview.jpg

 

Inside the box we find some...wellÂ…. nice stuff, and a decent layer of cheese as well. The nice items are the things like the three-way SLI bridge, the multiple Crossfire/SLI bridges, and the front break-out box complete with e-SATA, QuickBoost button and USB 3.0 ports.

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3877_07_gigabyte_g1_assassin_intel_x58_express_motherboard_preview.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/8/3877_08_gigabyte_g1_assassin_intel_x58_express_motherboard_preview.jpg

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases