TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,006 Reviews & Articles | 38,757 News Posts

Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler Preview - The Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler

Thermaltake takes the basic idea of the Frio and goes green with it. Not only green in color, but also green to the environment and your ears.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jul 26, 2010 7:48 am
Manufacturer: Thermaltake

The Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3420_07.jpg

 

Light green and grey are the colors of the hour and I have to say, while I wasn't fond of it in the video, the color scheme does grow on you. Well, it did me at least. There are finger guards to keep hands safe if you like to tinker in the case; they are shaped and designed not to impede too much air flow, maximizing potential.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3420_08.jpg

 

The sides are not completely enclosed, but the fan shrouds/mounting does keep most of the air inside the body of the cooler. The five heat pipes you see at the bottom are staggered as they pass through the fins. Again, this is to get more air on more pipes at once, making the cooler more efficient than if they were in a straight line.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3420_09.jpg

 

On the top, Thermaltake covers most of it with this lime green cover. The centre has a cut out that exposes the Thermaltake logo and Jing etching found on the top aluminium fin. There are also handy little arrows on this cover to help remind users of the direction of air flow.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3420_10.jpg

 

The milled copper base is for the most part flat in the center, but the edges did show a bit of a gap. The nickel plating helps to smooth out the imperfections, but you can see in the reflection, or lack thereof, that the base isn't mirror like in any way. The base on this sample seemed a bit "tweaked" but I'm sure the retail coolers will have this sorted out. The two holes on either side are to accept the AMD and Intel mounting hardware.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3420_11.jpg

 

Wanting to get a look at the actual tower, I started to dismantle the Jing. I found handy little lock tabs are what holds the fans in place and really make it simple to get the fan out for cleaning.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3420_12.jpg

 

Underneath each corner of the fans, the fan shroud has rubber pads to further isolate them from the cooler. These shrouds release from the sides of the Jing with two tabs on either side.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3420_13.jpg

 

Now we can see the actual shape of the coolers fins. There is a nice gap for the air to build pressure before and after it exits the fins. If you really need to look at the top any deeper, it will require the removal of those four Phillip screws mounting the plastic trip to the fins.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3420_14.jpg

 

With all the plastic out of the way we can get a good look at the airs path through these forty-one fins. If you ask me, the base plate looks a little unfinished, or should I say, it's a perfect place for some sort of pre-cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3420_15.jpg

 

The fans are powered by a 3-pin fan connector, and as with other fans from Thermaltake, the little inline fan controller comes with these as well. Unfortunately, in my sample there was no adapter to run both fans off of one header. Again, maybe something that gets included in the full package, just not mine.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases