Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,679 Reviews & Articles | 45,654 News Posts

Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler Preview - The Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler


By: | CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jul 26, 2010 7:48 am
Manufacturer: Thermaltake

The Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler

 

content/3/4/3420_07.jpg

 

Light green and grey are the colors of the hour and I have to say, while I wasn't fond of it in the video, the color scheme does grow on you. Well, it did me at least. There are finger guards to keep hands safe if you like to tinker in the case; they are shaped and designed not to impede too much air flow, maximizing potential.

 

content/3/4/3420_08.jpg

 

The sides are not completely enclosed, but the fan shrouds/mounting does keep most of the air inside the body of the cooler. The five heat pipes you see at the bottom are staggered as they pass through the fins. Again, this is to get more air on more pipes at once, making the cooler more efficient than if they were in a straight line.

 

content/3/4/3420_09.jpg

 

On the top, Thermaltake covers most of it with this lime green cover. The centre has a cut out that exposes the Thermaltake logo and Jing etching found on the top aluminium fin. There are also handy little arrows on this cover to help remind users of the direction of air flow.

 

content/3/4/3420_10.jpg

 

The milled copper base is for the most part flat in the center, but the edges did show a bit of a gap. The nickel plating helps to smooth out the imperfections, but you can see in the reflection, or lack thereof, that the base isn't mirror like in any way. The base on this sample seemed a bit "tweaked" but I'm sure the retail coolers will have this sorted out. The two holes on either side are to accept the AMD and Intel mounting hardware.

 

content/3/4/3420_11.jpg

 

Wanting to get a look at the actual tower, I started to dismantle the Jing. I found handy little lock tabs are what holds the fans in place and really make it simple to get the fan out for cleaning.

 

content/3/4/3420_12.jpg

 

Underneath each corner of the fans, the fan shroud has rubber pads to further isolate them from the cooler. These shrouds release from the sides of the Jing with two tabs on either side.

 

content/3/4/3420_13.jpg

 

Now we can see the actual shape of the coolers fins. There is a nice gap for the air to build pressure before and after it exits the fins. If you really need to look at the top any deeper, it will require the removal of those four Phillip screws mounting the plastic trip to the fins.

 

content/3/4/3420_14.jpg

 

With all the plastic out of the way we can get a good look at the airs path through these forty-one fins. If you ask me, the base plate looks a little unfinished, or should I say, it's a perfect place for some sort of pre-cooler.

 

content/3/4/3420_15.jpg

 

The fans are powered by a 3-pin fan connector, and as with other fans from Thermaltake, the little inline fan controller comes with these as well. Unfortunately, in my sample there was no adapter to run both fans off of one header. Again, maybe something that gets included in the full package, just not mine.

 

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Australia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at PLE Computer's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.



    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Or Scroll Down