TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,006 Reviews & Articles | 38,761 News Posts

Kingfast 32GB Secure Hardware Encrypted USB Flash Drive Review

Kingfast 32GB Secure Hardware Encrypted USB Flash Drive Review
Today we look at the hardware encrypted Kingfast Secure USB flash drive. Read on as Tyler gives us the full details on this new device.
| USB Drives in Storage | Posted: May 17, 2014 6:03 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Kingfast

TweakTown image content/6/3/6341_99_kingfast_32gb_secure_hardware_encrypted_usb_flash_drive_review.png

 

If you are like me, when you think of a secure storage solution, then you probably associate it with something with a software layer that enables a type of AES or Bitlocker encryption to protect your data as this is the most common type of security used with flash drives. Kingfast thought outside the box with this next product and took things to the next level with a full on keypad to protect your data.

 

If we dig even further into the specifications for this flash drive, you will find that Kingfast has setup this drive for 20 years of data retention at 25c with unlimited read endurance. Write endurance for the 32GB model we have in-house today extends to eight years at 100GB per day.

 

In addition to this, we have built-in ECC with data destroy, bad block management, and both static and dynamic wear levelling. Performance specifications of the drive have it capable of 20 MB/s read and 18 MB/s write, so we know right off the bat this drive was designed to be secure over high performance.

 

MSRP of the Kingfast Secure USB in the 32GB flavor is listed at $99.99 with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6341_02_kingfast_32gb_secure_hardware_encrypted_usb_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Kingfast put together great packaging for the Secure USB. As you can see, they packaged the drive in dense foam within a small box.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6341_03_kingfast_32gb_secure_hardware_encrypted_usb_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The front of the drive houses the 11 button keypad and comes secured from the factory. Pushing the unlock button sets off a series of LED flashes, which give you six seconds to enter the passcode for the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6341_04_kingfast_32gb_secure_hardware_encrypted_usb_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The Kingfast utilizes a capped design but fits very snug.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6341_20_kingfast_32gb_secure_hardware_encrypted_usb_flash_drive_review.png

 

The Kingfast Secure USB is factory formatted with the FAT32 file system, ensuring compatibility between Windows and Macintosh computers. The usable capacity after formatting is 29.7GB.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6341_21_kingfast_32gb_secure_hardware_encrypted_usb_flash_drive_review.png

 

Here we have the results from CDM. As you can see, the Kingfast met specifications for read performance at 22 MB/s but fell short on write performance peaking at 9 MB/s.

 

The Kingfast Secure USB is one of those solutions that is purpose built and, as such, is built like an Abrams tank. The build quality of this drive really couldn't get any better; the entire structure of the drive is metal sealed up to be waterproof, dustproof, and even shock proof. In addition, the keypad enables hardware AES 256 encryption, and in the event someone was to enter the password incorrectly ten times, your data is destroyed.

 

Performance of the drive met marketing specifications on the read side of things at 22 MB/s, but the write performance fell short, topping out at 9 MB/s. While this could just be an issue with the benchmark used, I don't count it as a bad thing when we take into consideration what purpose the drive fills, but we do hope Kingfast goes back to the drawing board and whips up a USB 3.0 variant for us to test.

 

MSRP of the Kingfast Secure USB in the 32GB capacity is set at $99.99 with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image 6/3/6341_1234_kingfast_32gb_secure_hardware_encrypted_usb_flash_drive_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/3/6341_100_kingfast_32gb_secure_hardware_encrypted_usb_flash_drive_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases