TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,913 Reviews & Articles | 38,095 News Posts

WD Xe 10k SAS 2.5-inch Enterprise HDD Review - 8k Random Read/Write

WD Xe 10k SAS 2.5-inch Enterprise HDD Review

WD's Xe provides high-density performance storage for demanding applications. We take a closer look at how it competes with other 10k HDD solutions. (NASDAQ:WDC)

| HDDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Mar 21, 2014 2:05 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: WD

8k Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6180_18_wd_xe_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

8k random read and write speed is a metric that is not tested for consumer use, but this is an important aspect of performance for enterprise environments. With several different workloads relying heavily upon 8k performance, we include this as a standard with each evaluation. Many of our Server Emulations below will also test 8k performance with various mixed read/write workloads.

 

The WD Xe averages 395 IOPS, and the Toshiba AL13SE delivers an average of 389 IOPS at QD256. The Seagate v7 averages 404 IOPS.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6180_19_wd_xe_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

The WD Xe exhibits the same tendency for less performance at lower queue depths with random write activity. The Xe delivers 340 IOPS at QD256, the AL13SE is at 377 IOPS, and the v7 measures in at 361 IOPS.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6180_20_wd_xe_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

The WD Xe again tops the charts with heavy read activity on the left, but it loses ground as we move to the right.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6180_21_wd_xe_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

The wide range of latency is not quite as orderly as the other two drives in the test pool.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6180_22_wd_xe_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

The WD Xe again exhibits excellent power consumption with a low average of 7.01 watts. This is nearly a 1.5 watt advantage, a big deal when we stack up hundreds of drives in a production environment.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6180_23_wd_xe_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6180_24_wd_xe_10k_sas_2_5_inch_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

The WD Xe leans on its stellar power consumption to provide enhanced efficiency.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases