TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,055 Reviews & Articles | 38,941 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: DisplayPort 1.3 announced, supports 5K, as well as 4K at 120Hz

Plextor M6e 256GB PCIe SSD Review - Breaking the Chains of SATA III - Plextor M6e 256GB PCIe SSD

Plextor M6e 256GB PCIe SSD Review - Breaking the Chains of SATA III
Today Chris gives close inspection to the new Plextor M6e 256GB SSD, a PCI Express based storage product. Read on as we give you the full rundown.
| PCIe in Storage | Posted: Mar 10, 2014 2:06 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Plextor

Plextor M6e 256GB PCIe SSD

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6147_05_plextor_m6e_256gb_pcie_ssd_review_breaking_the_chains_of_sata_iii.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6147_06_plextor_m6e_256gb_pcie_ssd_review_breaking_the_chains_of_sata_iii.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6147_07_plextor_m6e_256gb_pcie_ssd_review_breaking_the_chains_of_sata_iii.jpg

 

Inside the package, we found the SSD nestled in closed cell foam for safe shipping. Plextor also included a paper installation manual and a VIP pamphlet that lists support contact information.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6147_08_plextor_m6e_256gb_pcie_ssd_review_breaking_the_chains_of_sata_iii.jpg

 

The M6e is actually two parts. The first is the M.2 SSD that's keyed for both B and M slots. In time, this form factor will work in notebooks and Ultrabooks, but Intel keeps pushing M.2 adaption back as they wait for an Intel labeled product.

 

A few desktop motherboards on the market support M.2 connectivity. ASUS' popular ROG series has the open slot but is limited to just one lane, so the maximum throughput is just 500 MB/s. Of the products in the Z87 ROG series, only the Maximus VI Impact gives enough room to install a long M.2 form factor drive. The ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer supports and has room for long M.2 drives, but that leaves the pool very shallow.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6147_09_plextor_m6e_256gb_pcie_ssd_review_breaking_the_chains_of_sata_iii.jpg

 

That leads us to the second component in the package, the adapter bracket. Plextor was very thoughtful with the adapter bracket for the M6e, but it could be much smaller and cheaper. The M6e uses two PCIe lanes, but the adapter supports up to four lanes.

 

At CES, we had an exclusive look at Marvell's four-lane controller with up to 1200 MB/s sequential performance. We fully expect Plextor to take a serious look at that controller. Plextor M6e Pro, maybe? If so, the adapter card supports it.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6147_10_plextor_m6e_256gb_pcie_ssd_review_breaking_the_chains_of_sata_iii.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the M.2 SSD. As you can see, the components are very close together and the surface area comes at a premium.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6147_11_plextor_m6e_256gb_pcie_ssd_review_breaking_the_chains_of_sata_iii.jpg

 

Plextor uses Toshiba 19nm Toggle flash on the drive and pairs it with the Marvell 88SS9183.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6147_12_plextor_m6e_256gb_pcie_ssd_review_breaking_the_chains_of_sata_iii.jpg

 

The 256GB model uses a single 512 MB DDR3 buffer for page location data.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases