TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,136 Reviews & Articles | 39,421 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

ADATA DashDrive UD320 OTG Hybrid Flash Drive Review

ADATA DashDrive UD320 OTG Hybrid Flash Drive Review
We look at the latest hybrid flash drive from ADATA, the UD320 OTG. Follow as Tyler gives us his thoughts on it and covers its performance.
| USB Drives in Storage | Posted: Mar 12, 2014 2:07 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: ADATA

TweakTown image content/6/1/6135_99_adata_dashdrive_ud320_otg_hybrid_flash_drive_review.png

 

As of late, hybrid or OTG flash drives have been gaining popularity, mostly due to the ease of use and of course allowing you to swap files between your PC and Android phone.

 

Today, we have one such product from ADATA in the form of the DashDrive UD320. The UD320 carries a unique design in that the OTG, or micro USB, portion of the flash drive is more of an adapter than a dedicated drive. The UD320 comes in several capacities, including 16GB and 32GB. The model we have for review is the 32GB.

 

Compatibility of the UD320 extends to modern Windows operating systems, Mac OS 9+, and Android 4.1+. MSRP of the ADATA UD320 in the 32GB capacity is set at $14.99, and the drive comes with a lifetime warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6135_02_adata_dashdrive_ud320_otg_hybrid_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Looking over the UD320, we first noticed its extremely small size. The front of the drive houses branding for the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6135_03_adata_dashdrive_ud320_otg_hybrid_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Here you can see how the drive pulls apart, with one end being a cap for the micro USB port while the other is the actual flash drive.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6135_04_adata_dashdrive_ud320_otg_hybrid_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Above, we have a look at the micro USB port.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6135_05_adata_dashdrive_ud320_otg_hybrid_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Here we have the adapter portion of the UD320; it does appear to be a standard connection, so you may be able to use other flash drives with this adapter.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6135_06_adata_dashdrive_ud320_otg_hybrid_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Above, we have the flash drive itself, which is 32GB in capacity and very tiny.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6135_10_adata_dashdrive_ud320_otg_hybrid_flash_drive_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

The ADATA UD320 is factory formatted with the FAT32 file system, ensuring compatibility between Windows and Macintosh computers. The usable capacity after formatting is 29.7GB.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6135_11_adata_dashdrive_ud320_otg_hybrid_flash_drive_review.png

 

Here we have the results from CDM. As you can see, the ADATA UD320 is capable of 25 MB/s read and 17 MB/s write. This gives plenty of storage throughput to watch videos from the device and, of course, move pictures and documents back and forth.

 

In the time I spent with the DashDrive UD320, I did find the drive to have excellent build quality; the plastic shells are held together well, and all connections are quite snug.

 

Performance of the UD320 was ample for its intended use, though I would like to have slightly faster write speeds so I don't have to wait for files to load to the device, especially in the case of movies, which tend to be in the 4GB range.

 

As far as interoperability goes, I had no issue moving files back and forth from my PC to the phone, though I would like it to support Windows Phone 8, though that's most likely something Microsoft would have to step up to the plate with.

 

MSRP of the ADATA UD320 is set at $14.99 with a lifetime warranty. Current market pricing can be found below.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the ADATA UD320 for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing, but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The ADATA UD320 retails for $25.99 at Amazon.

 

Canada: The ADATA UD320 retails for $55.64 at Amazon Canada.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/1/6135_1234_adata_dashdrive_ud320_otg_hybrid_flash_drive_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/1/6135_100_adata_dashdrive_ud320_otg_hybrid_flash_drive_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases