TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,143 Reviews & Articles | 39,488 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS Workstation (Intel C602) Motherboard Review - System and CPU Benchmarks

ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS Workstation (Intel C602) Motherboard Review
When it comes to dual-socket 2011 workstation motherboards, ASUS came up with one of the best you can get. They held back nothing on the Z9PE-D8 WS. (TPE:2357)
| Motherboards in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Mar 4, 2014 3:15 pm
TweakTown Rating: 99%Manufacturer: ASUS

PassMark8

 

PassMark performance test runs 32 tests, including CPU, 2D and 3D graphics, disk, and memory tests, to come up with an overall system ranking that allows you to determine how fast your computer is in comparison with other systems.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_36_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.png

 

In the PassMark tests, we find that higher stock speeds and better graphics score better. The ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS scored very well in this test; in fact, it holds our new number one spot.

 

Cinebench 11.5

 

Cinebench is a real-world cross platform test suite that evaluates your computer's performance capabilities. The test scenario uses all of your system's processing power to render a photorealistic 3D scene. This scene makes use of various different algorithms to stress all available processor cores. You can also run this test with a single-core mode to give a single-core rating.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_37_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.png

 

Again, we find the lower stock speed of the E5-2670s hold this board back in these benchmarks, but it really takes off in the multi-threaded scores as we can see here. Having 32 threads is a real advantage here.

 

The ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS claimed the number one spot in this test also but only by a small amount.

 

Cinebench R15

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_38_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.png

 

Just like in the Cinebench 11.5 results, we see a lower single-threaded score and a much higher multi-threaded score.

 

In this test, we have a tie for first place. This is a strong showing for the ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS in that it is equal to powerful server boards.

 

wPrime

 

wPrime is a leading multithreaded benchmark for x86 processors that tests your processor performance. This is a great test to use to rate the system speed; it also works as a stress test to see how well the system cooling is performing.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_39_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.png

 

In this test, we see the ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS is again faster and takes the lead.

 

POV-Ray

 

POV-Ray (Persistence of Vision Ray-Tracer) creates three-dimensional, photo-realistic images using a rendering technique called ray tracing. Ray tracing is not a fast process by any means, but it produces very high quality images with realistic reflections, shading, perspective, and other effects.

 

This is a very good test to stress CPU threads and check memory stability and overclocks to see if the system is stable. The latest version (3.6) is a free download and has a benchmark utility that we have run for these tests. Results displayed show the average PPS (pixels per second) that the render took.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_40_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.png

 

Single-threaded higher clock speeds will generate higher scores with this benchmark, so a dual CPU system does not help this benchmark much.

 

Here again, we see a slightly faster score.

 

x264 HD

 

x264 HD Benchmark measures how fast your computer can encode a 1080p video clip into a high quality x264 video file. This benchmark uses multi-core/threaded systems very efficiently and is a good memory stability test.

 

Results in this test are the average of each pass performed four times.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_41_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.png

 

The X9DR7-TF+ scored much better in this test, producing 32.6 FPS more in the x264 test.

 

SPECwpc_v1.0.2

 

SPECwpc_v1.0.2 is a workstation benchmark that measures key aspects of workstation applications.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_42_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.png

 

These tests do put a huge load on the system and take around 8 hours to run on this system. SPECwpc puts a heavy load on the GPU.

 

In everything but general operations, the ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS has taken the lead, except for a slightly lower score for financial services.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases