TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,928 Reviews & Articles | 38,194 News Posts

ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS Workstation (Intel C602) Motherboard Review - Specifications and Layout

ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS Workstation (Intel C602) Motherboard Review

When it comes to dual-socket 2011 workstation motherboards, ASUS came up with one of the best you can get. They held back nothing on the Z9PE-D8 WS. (TPE:2357)

| Motherboards in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Mar 4, 2014 3:15 pm
TweakTown Rating: 99%      Manufacturer: ASUS

Specifications

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_09_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.png

 

What stands out in the specification list is the number of PCIe slots and Input/Output options. You can install up to four GPUs and connect a large number of storage devices. If you need remote access, you can add an ASMB6 iKVM connector, which is very nice.

 

 

Layout

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_10_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Over all, the layout of the Z9PE-D8 WS is straightforward. What we are not crazy about is how the RAM slots are located. Using large heat sinks here might cause issues with keeping the RAM sticks cool; there is a possibility they will not get good airflow to keep them cool.

 

With the Noctua heat sinks we used, we would not have clearance for tall RAM sticks, so we suggest using low profile RAM to help with airflow.

 

The CPU sockets are staggered just a little, but not enough for higher air flow rates. Keep these factors in mind when considering a case and coolers to use on this motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_11_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

This is the left side of the motherboard. Right above the mounting hole, we find the ASMB6-iKVM header if you wish to install this extra option.

 

The orange header is the VGA Header. You can use the included VGA Bracket and output video through this.

 

The white header is COM port 1. In between the blue and black PCIe slots is the second white COM port 2. The two red headers are IE-1394 one and two ports. The two blue headers are for USB 2.0. The light blue header is for USB 3.0.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_12_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

If you need iKVM, you can order the ASMB6-iKVM module. It is not included in the retail package.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_13_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Starting from where we left off, the next two connectors are two USB 2.0.

 

The two white connectors are for front fan headers. The next four black connectors are SATA 3.0. The white header is the front panel connector. The black header just above the white header is the auxiliary panel connector.

 

Next, we see four white SATA 6.0 Gb/s connectors controlled by the Marvell controller. Above that are four black SATA 3.0 Gb/s connectors. The top two blue connectors are SATA 6.0 Gb/s.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_14_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Seven PCIe slots are on the board, which break down like this.

 

- PCIe 1 (blue) x16 (Gen3 x16/x8 link)

- PCIe 2 (black) x16 (Gen3 x8 link)

- PCIe 3 (blue) x16 (Gen3 x16/x8 link)

- PCIe 4 (black) x16 (Gen3 x8 link)

- PCIe 5 (blue) x16 (Gen3 x16 link)

- PCIe 6 (black) x16 (Gen3 x8 link)

- PCIe 7 (blue) x16 (Gen3 x16 link)

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_15_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

We really like it when Power/Reset buttons and Q-Code LED display features are included on motherboards.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6120_16_asus_z9pe_d8_ws_workstation_intel_c602_motherboard_review.jpg

 

The back I/O section starts with a PS/2 and 2 USB 2.0 connectors. Next is an optical S/PDIF Out port followed by 2x USB 2.0 ports. The next stack has a Gigabit LAN port with two USB 2.0 ports below. Next is a Gigabit LAN port with two USB 3.0 ports below. The last stack is the audio outputs.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases