TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,252 Reviews & Articles | 40,834 News Posts

Cooler Master Elite 130 SFF Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Cooler Master Elite 130 SFF Chassis Review
The Elite 130 hits our labs. Let's check out Cooler Master's idea of what a SFF chassis should be. Bonus is that it sells for a great price.
| Small Form Factor Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 26, 2014 3:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Cooler Master

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6106_26_cooler_master_elite_130_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

At this point, we tended to some of the wiring, but got the motherboard into place. The bar blocking the view is removable, but is a key structural element, and we recommend it goes back in. This is also where you want to connect the SATA cables and power leads, as access is about to disappear.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6106_27_cooler_master_elite_130_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once the PSU is wired up and all of the connections are made, you can see that access to the motherboard has now been limited to what you can do from the sides.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6106_28_cooler_master_elite_130_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

As we take the final tour around the Elite 130, we don't mind the DVD drive mixed in with the mesh down the middle of the chassis. Also, the bezel should be on the chassis when installing the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6106_29_cooler_master_elite_130_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

With our larger than usual HD 7950 installed, we find that access has now been cut off from two of the three sides. The PSU just slides by the PCB, and even with a slightly thicker cooler, we can still close the door and allow this fan to draw straight through the provided ventilation.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6106_30_cooler_master_elite_130_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

We did try a dust shield, and there were no issues there, but this ASRock does not have one to use. The PSU went in easily, and since it slides in you can make the connections halfway in, and we had no issues getting the card secured either.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6106_31_cooler_master_elite_130_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

As you can see from this side as well, access is not something that comes easy once the build is completed. You can remove the fan and bracket for minor fixes, but this is the kind of design where you'd want to get things right the first time.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6106_32_cooler_master_elite_130_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

The single cover went back over everything easily, and even with the 2.5 slot VGA cooler, the side panel slid right over it. At this point, all we have left to do is to power the Elite 130, and see what she can do.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6106_33_cooler_master_elite_130_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once we powered the chassis, and keep in mind we used the Molex connectors to power the chassis fans, we set the CPU cooler as low as possible. At this point, we got a reading of 38dB at a foot from any side of the chassis. Of course, if we allowed the CPU cooler to spool up, or the video card for that matter, audible levels do increase, but that will vary on the components chosen for the build, and not so much the chassis.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases