TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,085 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Corsair Flash Voyager LS 128GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Review

Corsair Flash Voyager LS 128GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Review

Corsair's Flash Voyager LS carries a unique sliding design, but does it have the performance for everyday use? Let's find out and see how it goes.

| USB Drives in Storage | Posted: Nov 26, 2013 2:29 am
TweakTown Rating: 85%      Manufacturer: Corsair

TweakTown image content/5/8/5886_99_corsair_flash_voyager_ls_128gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

The Corsair Voyager LS is a rather unique spin on the typical sliding USB flash drive design. Where standard drives slide into or out of the body of the drive, the LS carries a metal retainer that spins around the central point of the drive, revealing the USB 3.0 port.

 

The Corsair Flash Voyager LS has come to market in a number of capacities. These include a 16GB, 32GB, 64GB and 128GB model. Compatibility of these drives extend to all modern Windows operating systems, while also including Mac OS X and Linux support. Looking into the specifications for this drive, the only marketing information I could find on was it offers "USB 3.0 performance". Warranty is listed at a very solid five years.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5886_02_corsair_flash_voyager_ls_128gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

With the Voyager LS, Corsair went with a rather unique design. Here you can see the drive carries a metal retainer around the outside of the drive. At the top, the drive comes with a small lanyard and key ring attached.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5886_03_corsair_flash_voyager_ls_128gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

As you spin the retainer on the LS around, the USB 3.0 port appears from within the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5886_04_corsair_flash_voyager_ls_128gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The USB 3.0 port is colored blue, accordingly - no surprises here.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5886_05_corsair_flash_voyager_ls_128gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

Internally, the Flash Voyager LS shares the same PCB with the Voyager Slider. Here we have the Phison PS2251.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5886_06_corsair_flash_voyager_ls_128gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.jpg

 

The backside house a single NAND package at 128GB, which to me is rather impressive.

 

One of the lesser-known features of running Microsoft's new operating system Windows 8 is the native capability of USB Attached SCSI or UASP. In benchmarking flash drives, we utilize ATTO Disk Benchmark followed by DiskBench and our custom set of real-world data, and is by far the most important comparison when looking for a flash drive for everyday use.

 

Recently we have added our very own Price vs. Performance charts for both read and write performance of each drive, for these charts we take the average sequential performance over five runs and divide it by the price per GB. All pricing information is updated before a new drive is added and is taken from certified channel retailers such as Newegg or Amazon.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5886_20_corsair_flash_voyager_ls_128gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

The Corsair Flash Voyager LS is factory formatted with the FAT32 file system, insuring compatibility between Windows and Macintosh computers. The usable capacity after formatting is 115GB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5886_21_corsair_flash_voyager_ls_128gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

At this point, after knowing the internal components, I had a slight idea what the performance would look like. Above, we have 138 MB/s read and 30 MB/s reads.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5886_22_corsair_flash_voyager_ls_128gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

DiskBench landed the LS towards the bottom of our charts, but slightly quicker than the Slider, thanks to the additional capacity of our sample.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5886_23_corsair_flash_voyager_ls_128gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

 

More often than not price/performance is going to be the most important factor in determining what drive you decide to purchase. Above you can see the Flash Voyager LS does quite well in this area sliding into fifth position in our charts.

 

As with all products that come through the test lab here at TweakTown, I like to spend a bit of time with them to get a good feel for the drive. In testing the everyday use of the drive, I found the Voyager LS really easy to use in situations where you only have a single hand free. On the other hand, I found that the durability of the drive is in question. The reason for this is the metal retainer that controls the motion of the USB 3.0 port tends to slide off its pivot point at times, leaving you to spend time snapping it back in place.

 

Performance of the drive was quite good with sequential reads, where we topped 150 MB/s. Sequential writes, however, were pretty low for a flash drive in this day and age. Even with the slower than normal write speeds, the price/performance chart tells the story. Here we have the drive at the top of our charts thanks to Corsairs aggressive pricing.

 

Pricing for the 128GB Corsair Flash Voyager LS sits at $89.99 with the smaller 16GB, 32GB and 64GB models at $15.99, $25.99 and $44.99, respectively.

 

TweakTown image 5/8/5886_1234_corsair_flash_voyager_ls_128gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/8/5886_100_corsair_flash_voyager_ls_128gb_usb_3_0_flash_drive_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below