TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,681 Reviews & Articles | 36,152 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

MyDigitalSSD Bullet Proof USB 3.0 mSATA SSD Enclosure Adapter Review

MyDigitalSSD Bullet Proof USB 3.0 mSATA SSD Enclosure Adapter Review

If you're in the market for a uniquely small external storage solution, MDSSD has you covered with its speedy mSATA USB 3.0 enclosure.

| Accessories in Storage | Posted: Oct 30, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: MyDigitalSSD

TweakTown image content/5/8/5835_99_mydigitalssd_bullet_proof_usb_3_0_msata_ssd_enclosure_adapter_review.png

 

The folks over at MyDigitalSSD specialize in creating unique products, without the cost of a badge. I say this because with most vendors you pay a certain amount just for that sticker with branding.

 

One of the most recent designs from MDSSD comes in the form of an external enclosure fit for mSATA SSDs measuring just 74mm x 42mm x 13mm. With this new model, the folks over at MDSSD upgraded the PCB to include the latest ASM1053E controller from ASMedia - it should allow increased performance within the very compact controller. Compatibility extends as far as Mac OS X and modern Windows operating systems. The MDSSD mSATA enclosure is warranties for a period of one year.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5835_02_mydigitalssd_bullet_proof_usb_3_0_msata_ssd_enclosure_adapter_review.jpg

 

Within the packaging, you will find the blue PCB that houses the mSATA and USB 3.0 connections, along with the single piece aluminium enclosure for protecting your drive, USB 3.0 cable and a nice carrying bag.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5835_03_mydigitalssd_bullet_proof_usb_3_0_msata_ssd_enclosure_adapter_review.jpg

 

Here we have the mSATA slot for your SSD. Looking closer the USB 3.0 port is placed at the bottom, along with a white LED to the left.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5835_04_mydigitalssd_bullet_proof_usb_3_0_msata_ssd_enclosure_adapter_review.jpg

 

The backside houses the ASM1053E controller.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5835_05_mydigitalssd_bullet_proof_usb_3_0_msata_ssd_enclosure_adapter_review.jpg

 

To test the capabilities of the enclosure, we placed our MDSSD Smart Series mSATA SSD in the PCB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5835_06_mydigitalssd_bullet_proof_usb_3_0_msata_ssd_enclosure_adapter_review.jpg

 

Here we have the enclosure itself, the front houses the MDSSD logo.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5835_07_mydigitalssd_bullet_proof_usb_3_0_msata_ssd_enclosure_adapter_review.jpg

 

After putting our mSATA PCB in the enclosure, we placed the end cap in position. Here we have the USB 3.0 port readily available.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5835_08_mydigitalssd_bullet_proof_usb_3_0_msata_ssd_enclosure_adapter_review.jpg

 

Here we have placed our mSATA case inside the included soft carry case.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5835_20_mydigitalssd_bullet_proof_usb_3_0_msata_ssd_enclosure_adapter_review.png

 

Here we have our first glimpse of performance from the MDSSD enclosure. Notice how it exhausts all available USB 3.0 bandwidth in both read and write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5835_2111_mydigitalssd_bullet_proof_usb_3_0_msata_ssd_enclosure_adapter_review.png

 

In our Disk Bench testing, the MDSSD enclosure coupled with the extremely fast smart series mSATA SSD did quite well. Here we have 166 MB/s for our 10GB directory testing.

 

The build quality of the MDSSD external mSATA enclosure is rather good, and I say that because it's a rather simple one-piece design that offers excellent protection and ease of use. Setting up the device includes installing the mSATA SSD of choice into the PCB, then sliding that PCB into the enclosure and attaching the end plate.

 

After that you have yourself a very quick performing oriented enclosure to take with on the go. The performance as we saw in testing was exceptional, where we touched and maxed out our available USB 3.0 bandwidth with 450 MB/s reads and writes.

 

Pricing for the mSATA external enclosure is listed at $24.99 and available at many online retailers. If you purchase from MyDigitalDiscount, you get instant savings where the price is listed at $19.99. To add the Smart Series mSATA SSD to your order, the drive we tested with today it will set you back another $219.99 for the 256GB model and $134.99 for the 128GB model.

 

TweakTown image 5/8/5835_1234_mydigitalssd_bullet_proof_usb_3_0_msata_ssd_enclosure_adapter_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/8/5835_100_mydigitalssd_bullet_proof_usb_3_0_msata_ssd_enclosure_adapter_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below