TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,931 Reviews & Articles | 38,208 News Posts

SanDisk X210 256GB Business Class SSD - Exploring Overprovisioning - 128K Sequential Read/Write

SanDisk X210 256GB Business Class SSD - Exploring Overprovisioning

SanDisk's release of its X210 caters to a growing market for SSDs tailored for read-centric applications. Today we look closely at overprovisioning. (NASDAQ:SNDK)

| Editorials in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Oct 21, 2013 7:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: SanDisk

128K Sequential Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5822_28_sandisk_x210_256gb_business_class_ssd_exploring_overprovisioning.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5822_29_sandisk_x210_256gb_business_class_ssd_exploring_overprovisioning.png

 

The 128K sequential speeds reflect the maximum sequential throughput of the SSD using a realistic file size encountered in an enterprise scenario.

 

The extra performance we observe with random workloads does not carry over to sequential read data, with an average of 496 MB/s for both settings.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5822_30_sandisk_x210_256gb_business_class_ssd_exploring_overprovisioning.png

 

The X210 sequential write speed also remains unaffected, with only 1 MB/s of difference between the two with 447 MB/s for the 100% LBA results.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5822_31_sandisk_x210_256gb_business_class_ssd_exploring_overprovisioning.png

 

Surprisingly, our mixed workload testing teases out a performance delta with OP in the 10-70% range, with the extra OP (80% LBA) experiencing acceleration.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5822_32_sandisk_x210_256gb_business_class_ssd_exploring_overprovisioning.png

 

With a pure sequential write workload, there is very little difference in latency performance.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5822_33_sandisk_x210_256gb_business_class_ssd_exploring_overprovisioning.png

 

With 100% LBA the X210 averages 4.12 Watts, and 80% LBA averages 4.08 Watts.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5822_34_sandisk_x210_256gb_business_class_ssd_exploring_overprovisioning.png

 

100% LBA averages 108 MB/s per Watt, with the 80% LBA nearly identical.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases