TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,247 Reviews & Articles | 40,734 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS Trayless HDD Cage Review

iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS Trayless HDD Cage Review
Today we get a close-up look at the iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS trayless HDD cage. If you're looking for a cheap and easy way to add HDDs, check it out.
| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Oct 18, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: iStarUSA

Introduction

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_01_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

iStarUSA's new BPN-DE product line consists of four different volume sizes ranging from single drive to a large five drive model. The BPN-DE Series has several model numbers because each volume capacity comes in four colors - blue, black, red and silver.

 

Today we're looking at the BPN-DE230SS, a three bay trayless model with a black finish and machined accents.

 

 

Specification, Availability and Pricing

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_02_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.png

 

The BPN-DE230SS occupies two 5.25" drive bays, what you might normally associate with optical drives. The system is trayless and holds three SATA or SAS 3.5" HDDs. The specifications state the cooling fan is optional, but our sample from iStarUSA shipped with the fan attached to the system.

 

The BPN-DE products go beyond most of the trayless system's we're tested. The drive cage has locks on each door and is all aluminum.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_99_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

After looking around online, we found the model we're looking at today for as low as $62.99.

 

 

Packaging

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_03_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

iStarUSA put together a nice retail package for the BPN-DE Series products. The front of the box covers all of the major details and shows an accurate image of the product inside.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_04_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

The side of the package states which color is inside the package.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_05_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

On the back we found more details about the product.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_06_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

Inside we found a well-packaged unit with dense foam surrounding the drive cage.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases