TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,200 Reviews & Articles | 40,018 News Posts

Kingwin FPX-002 Digital Fan Controller Review

Kingwin FPX-002 Digital Fan Controller Review
Kingwin dropped off a new digital fan controller and asked us to look at the new and affordable FPX-002. Let's take a close look at it now.
| Fan Controllers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 25, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Kingwin

TweakTown image content/5/8/5802_999_kingwin_fpx_002_digital_fan_controller_review.png

 

Out of the blue, I received an email from Kingwin asking me to look at some new products. Truth be told; I sort of forgot about Kingwin since it has been since almost the start of my career here since I last tested one of their products. Putting Kingwin back on the map for me is this new digital fan controller, with the name FXP-002.

 

This isn't just a plain fan controller with some fancy LCD, there is more than that to it. Kingwin includes things like temperature readings from three zones, fan control of three zones, thermal alarms, time, date, HDD activity, a simple way to control and set all of the parameters, and offers users 5W per channel to control fans. This means you will be able to stack maybe two or three fans per channel and not blow the power limits, but keep in mind, its intent isn't for a massively populated water cooled setup.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5802_02_kingwin_fpx_002_digital_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

This is what you will be looking at when finding the FPX-002 on the shelves. Not the most eye catching packaging, but it will suffice.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5802_03_kingwin_fpx_002_digital_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

This side of the box shows you images of the LCD screen and points out the various things found there.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5802_04_kingwin_fpx_002_digital_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

Even though I covered a lot of the specs and features already, feel free to enlarge this image and read them in greater detail.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5802_05_kingwin_fpx_002_digital_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

This side is more or less just a waste of space as the bar code could have gone on the bottom. I would have liked something else like a list of wires or connectivity here.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5802_06_kingwin_fpx_002_digital_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

Inside of this packaging, you receive one FPX-002 fan controller inside of an anti-static bag, one user manual, and a bag containing four mounting screws and stickers to attach the thermal probes.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

As we dig the components out of the packaging and get a few more images, there is a definite heft to this controller, and even with an ABS constructed front panel, it looks and feels very solid, and will make a great addition to any chassis with the more plain textured finish that gets applied to the FPX-002.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5802_07_kingwin_fpx_002_digital_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

The FPX-002 has a wide bezel around the LCD, offers three buttons to the right for programming and control, and Kingwin proudly paints their name in white below the LCD screen.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5802_10_kingwin_fpx_002_digital_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

Behind the panel, outside of the wiring connectivity to the PCB, we see the usual suspects in resistors and chokes. To the right, you find the speaker and battery for saving the time and date.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5802_08_kingwin_fpx_002_digital_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

Connectivity offered with this controller is as follows. There are three 4-pin fan power leads marked CPU, HDD and SYS-tem. You have the Molex plug for power; there is an HDD activity plug that goes to the motherboard, and three thermal probes with labelling to match the fan leads.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5802_09_kingwin_fpx_002_digital_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

All lit up with three fans under its control, you can see what the LCD has to offer. The time alarm is set, we have power, and it shows the HDD at the bottom. To the right of the date and time, the arches show we are at full power on the SYS channel, and that the current ambient temperate was 26C lying on the table.

 

Kingwin has tried to make a cool looking fan controller for the every man, and I think they have succeeded at this. The LCD offers all the information you would want at a glance, and by pressing a button you can cycle through and control the three zones with up to 5W worth of draw per channel. The actual fan settings are low at 8.5V, medium with 10.5V being applied, and at the highest level, I was reading 12.03V of the 12.05 that the PSU supplies.

 

You can easily locate the Kingwin FPX-002 digital fan controller at many of your favorite outlets. Currently it is Amazon and Microcenter that are battling for your dollars with pricing set just over $20 at the time of writing.

 

For those with limited cooling needs, but want LCD display with quite a bit of information to be had in one quick glance, Kingwin definitely delivers and the FPX-002 is worth every penny of that twenty dollar purchase price.

 

TweakTown image 5/8/5802_1234_kingwin_fpx_002_digital_fan_controller_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases