TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,934 Reviews & Articles | 38,233 News Posts

Seagate NAS 4TB HDD Enterprise Review - 128K Sequential Read/Write

Seagate NAS 4TB HDD Enterprise Review

Seagate's 4TB NAS HDD provides a direct competitor to the WD Red line from WD. We place them head-to-head to see which comes out on top.

| HDDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Oct 10, 2013 2:05 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Seagate

128K Sequential Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_17_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

The 128K sequential speeds reflect the maximum sequential throughput of the HDD using a file size encountered in a normal NAS usage.

 

The Seagate NAS exhibits an odd performance profile during our testing. Initially the HDD writes slower, but as the test progresses, it speeds up until each successive test completes. This may be the result of an optimized firmware that detects sustained sequential transfer access, and speeds up to compensate.

 

With the large amount of sequential transfer patterns used in most NAS environments, this is a welcome sign. The Seagate averages 155 MB/s over the course of each five-minute test, but we can see that the peak speed is in the 160-170 MB/s range. We conduct additional testing below to quantify the performance advantage of the Seagate HDD in sequential environments. The Red averages a slower 139 MB/s at QD256.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_18_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

The Seagate falls into the same performance profile with sequential read testing. Though the Seagate averages 156 MB/s, the peak transfer rate is around 170 MB/s. The WD Red averages 139 MB/s in sequential write speed during the measurement window.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_19_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

In this test, we write sequentially to the entire LBA range of the HDD to explore the performance of the Seagate NAS HDD with sequential activity. We note the first 150 seconds starts at the lower speed, then rises and continues its higher sustained write speed through the entire platter of the HDD. We also observe the return to higher speeds at the end of the test, after nearly eight and a half hours of writing, when the HDD returns to writing at the edge of the platter.

 

This illustrates the Seagate NAS HDD continuing its excellent sustained read speeds even with long-term use.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_20_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

The Red posts excellent performance in our mixed read/write testing, with a higher performance range in mixed sequential read/write workloads. The Seagate NAS performs well, with the exception of some significant variability in the 10-20% range.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_21_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

The Seagate NAS HDD offers up 99.4% of requests in the 20-40ms range.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_22_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

The Seagate NAS HDD has higher power consumption and draws 6.36 Watts, possible due to the much higher speed while processing sequential data. The WD Red averages 5.34 Watts during sequential write testing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_23_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_24_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

The Seagate HDD has less efficiency in the sequential read and write workloads, averaging 24 MB/s per Watt for 128K sequential read/write.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases