TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,687 Reviews & Articles | 36,220 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Thermaltake Commander F5 Fan Controller Review

Thermaltake Commander F5 Fan Controller Review

Thermaltake releases a new fan controller and this time we are dealing with a manual slider system with the Commander F5. Let's check it out.

| Fan Controllers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 4, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 60%      Manufacturer: Thermaltake

TweakTown image content/5/7/5776_99_thermaltake_commander_f5_fan_controller_review.png

 

Thermaltake is bringing forth a new fan controller to the market to go along with all the new series' of cases like the Urban, Chaser, and of course the Commander cases that this fan controller shares its name with. This five channel, slider based fan controller offers up to eight watts per channel, but isn't the typical fan controller one would expect either.

 

The Commander F5 fan controller is faced with a mesh panel, and has bold red slider knobs. On top of that, active fan channels are denoted with individual blue LEDs, and there is also a red LED denoting that this controller has power. The oddity I have found with this controller is that while you do have voltage control, the range I saw was from 10V at the low-end, and only 11.15V when the sliders are all the way up.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5776_02_thermaltake_commander_f5_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

In typical Thermaltake packaging, the Commander F5 is displayed prominently on the front to show you right away what is inside this eye catching package.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5776_03_thermaltake_commander_f5_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

In 11 languages, I believe they are pointing out the mesh front grill and the five channels this controller offers.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5776_04_thermaltake_commander_f5_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

The top of the packaging offers the Commander F5 naming, and denotes its multi-fan controller capabilities.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5776_05_thermaltake_commander_f5_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

Usually when the red stripe wraps around the box, it tends to lead to something interesting. In this instance, it led to UPC bar codes and other iconography.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5776_06_thermaltake_commander_f5_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

The back is where Thermaltake covers the six features of the Commander F5 above the specifications chart. Then off to the right are other images covering some of the previously listed features along with a couple new ones.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5776_07_thermaltake_commander_f5_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

The controller comes wrapped in an anti static bag, but is also secured inside of the much larger box with the use of dense foam at both sides.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

Getting back to the amount of power and just what you can do with it, I see this fan controller as less of a controller, and more of a step down device. I am not positive if this is how all of these controllers act, but with the slider in the lowest position sending 10V, there isn't very much low-end to this device.

 

Then on the other end of the slider, I was topping out at 11.15V on some channels, while others were slightly lower; why not 12V? So in essence, what we are really looking at is the ability to stack a few fans on each channel without overshooting the power capabilities, but only to lower them slightly from what they can do on any other fan controller I have ever used.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5776_08_thermaltake_commander_f5_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

The contents you will receive from Thermaltake are the fan controller, a user manual, information about the one year warranty, and a bag with four screws to mount the Commander F5 in a chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5776_09_thermaltake_commander_f5_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

The Thermaltake name starts things off at the left. Inside of all the mesh there are numbered red sliders for each of the five channels. There is also just a hint of the LED lights poking through the mesh.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5776_10_thermaltake_commander_f5_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

On the back of the PCB, there isn't much going on at all. There are a few resistors on this side, and the solder points from the diodes on the other side of the PCB. Also notice the fan headers are fit against the floor to keep them from pulling lose.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5776_11_thermaltake_commander_f5_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

The connectivity for the Commander F5 consists of the Molex plug for powering it, and there are channels marked one through five, and all are 4-pin ready, but use two wires for power and ground only.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5776_12_thermaltake_commander_f5_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

With five fans connected all of the blue LEDs will light up as seen. Once the PC is booted, even without connected fans, the red LED will glow to show you the F5 is indeed powered.

 

Overall I am perplexed with what I was delivered. I had expected the voltage to be slightly limited to like 11.9V, but not all the way down to 11V flat. Then on the low side, where I expected to be able to drop to around 6.5 to 7.5V, all five channels would not go below 10V. While I do like the styling and the use of LED lights and bright colored sliders, I just don't see much practical use for a device with these limitations.

 

While looks definitely sell with fan controllers, since enthusiasts and case builders tend to like to stick to a theme, with a PC Case Gear listing at $35, I just am not feeling this one. If it had a wider range of voltage, maybe, but as it sits, I just can't really see anyone with the need to control all of their fans with this limited range that this Commander F5 delivered in our testing.

 

TweakTown image 5/7/5776_1234_thermaltake_commander_f5_fan_controller_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below