TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,136 Reviews & Articles | 39,420 News Posts

Corsair Power Supply Sleeved Cable Accessories Review - Generation 2 ATX 24-pin Cables and Final Thoughs

Corsair Power Supply Sleeved Cable Accessories Review
Corsair sent over its range of power supply sleeved cables. Offering a big range of colors and style, they may be something to consider for your rig.
| Cables & Accessories in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 11, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Corsair

Generation 2 ATX 24-pin Cables

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5730_16_corsair_power_supply_sleeved_cable_accessories_review.jpg

 

The ATX 24-pin cables come in a much smaller box. If I didn't know better, I'd say Corsair sent me some RAM. These are available in all six colors and come in two different models. One fits the AXi series power supplies while the other fits the AX860/AX760 power supplies. Each cable retails for $19.99.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5730_17_corsair_power_supply_sleeved_cable_accessories_review.jpg

 

Alas, each box contains a single power cable. Here we have the blue, green and metallic graphite motherboard cables. These are the only cables we were able to get in blue and metallic graphite.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5730_18_corsair_power_supply_sleeved_cable_accessories_review.jpg

 

It is the same sleeving and same quality terminations on each cable that we've seen thus far.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5730_19_corsair_power_supply_sleeved_cable_accessories_review.jpg

 

Rounding out our cables from Corsair are the black, red, and white motherboard cables.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5730_20_corsair_power_supply_sleeved_cable_accessories_review.jpg

 

Zooming in we can see that there's nothing abnormal with these either.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5730_20_corsair_power_supply_sleeved_cable_accessories_review.jpg

 

The price is a bit steep for a single cable but you have to have it to round out your set.

 

 

[Final Thoughts]

 

Corsair's solution to customized cables is quite simple and will take care of what a very large majority of user's want. Just pick the corresponding kit for your power supply, make sure you get your motherboard cable, and you're good to go.

 

Unfortunately they are a bit high priced as you'll end up paying $100 for a full set of cables. There is a bit of a tradeoff though as attempting to do this yourself would require a ton a time and effort, plus the materials, and unless you are really good at it, probably won't turn out the same quality.

 

One of the biggest attractions for many to the Corsair cables will be the selection of colors. Most offer cables only in black and white, and perhaps one more color. By offering their cables in six different colors, Corsair is sure to appeal to a much wider audience with these. About the only ones who won't be pleased are those seeking cables with multiple colors.

 

Prior to publication, several members of the TweakTown staff were aware that I'd received these cables. Upon taking some pictures and passing them around, requests came in rather quickly to share the wealth. We're all quite happy with them and will be using them for quite some time with them in our personal rigs.

 

TweakTown image 5/7/5730_1234_corsair_power_supply_sleeved_cable_accessories_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases