TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,002 Reviews & Articles | 38,746 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Intel's Core i7-5960X CPU has already been overclocked to 6.2GHz

Thermaltake Allways Control Notebook Cooler Review - Allways Control Notebook Cooler Continued

Thermaltake Allways Control Notebook Cooler Review

A sleek, yet inventive solution to laptop cooling hits the market as we have our look at the Allways Control from Thermaltake.

| Notebook Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 11, 2013 2:02 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: Thermaltake

Allways Control Notebook Cooler Continued

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5729_17_thermaltake_allways_control_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

The only bad thing about the extendable feet is that they are solid plastic and not coated at all for grip. In the normal position you had five rubber pads helping to keep this in place. With the feet extended, you only have the three at the front, and this does tend to wander a bit when used like this.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5729_18_thermaltake_allways_control_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

I also went ahead and peeled the cooler apart for a better look at what is going on. I found that the louvers are moved by a lever with full rings around the ends of each louver. This means they are much tougher to break, and they won't pop out of a clip and end up in the fans.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5729_19_thermaltake_allways_control_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

The lower section of the frame is where the fans, the power and controller PCB, as well as the USB port PCB is all attached. With the pretty basic wiring and the way it is run, there will also be no chance of them getting into the fans either.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5729_20_thermaltake_allways_control_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

Doing all of the work in the Allways Control cooler is a pair of these TT-7015 fans. While the specifications show that these draw 0.32 Amps, the fans say that they draw 0.20 Amps each.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5729_21_thermaltake_allways_control_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

After I was done with the inside of the cooler, I went ahead and put it all back together and powered it on to get measurements of the noise levels. At this point, I found the Allways Control to run at a maximum of 42Db.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5729_22_thermaltake_allways_control_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

With the notebook now on the cooler, you can get a better idea of what the wiring and connections look like. The blue LED is illuminated, and I can hear the fans to know that this is running, but if you turn off the fans, you can still see at a glance it is ready to go. Also, if the ports are on the other side of yours, the cable will reach, without issue.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5729_23_thermaltake_allways_control_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

Tt Dude is impressed with the fact that we now have more ports to play with than we started off with just the Lenovo system by itself. Using these coolers as long as I have, I instantly go for these ports with thumb drives, and have to look where they are on the laptop still, they come in very handy.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5729_24_thermaltake_allways_control_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

I wanted to step back a bit just to show you what the Allways Control looks like under a 15" notebook. While it will obviously still work with 17" notebooks, they will definitely hang over the sides a fair bit, just something to think about there.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases