TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,668 Reviews & Articles | 36,029 News Posts

Toshiba MG03ACA400 4TB Enterprise HDD Review - 4K Random Read/Write

Toshiba MG03ACA400 4TB Enterprise HDD Review

Toshiba's MG03ACA400 4TB Enterprise HDD offers a capacity-intensive Tier-2 solution for storage of unstructured data. Let's take a close look at it. (TYO:6502)

| HDDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Aug 13, 2013 2:02 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: Toshiba

4K Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5658_11_toshiba_mg03aca400_4tb_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

Each QD for every parameter tested includes 300 data points (five minutes of one second reports) to illustrate the degree of performance variability. The line for each QD represents the average speed reported during the five-minute interval.

 

4K random speed measurements are an important metric when comparing drive performance, as the hardest type of file access for any storage solution to master is small-file random. One of the most sought-after performance specifications, 4K random performance is a heavily marketed figure.

 

The Toshiba MG03ACA400 scores in-between the two competitors with an average of 180 IOPS at QD256, only falling slightly by 10 IOPS to the Seagate Enterprise Capacity V.6.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5658_12_toshiba_mg03aca400_4tb_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

The Toshiba MG03ACA400 falls into a very tight range of performance with its competitors, averaging 199 IOPS in comparison to the Seagate V.6 with 205 IOPS at QD256 in our 4K write testing. The Western Digital SE trails closely behind with an average of 198 IOPS.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5658_13_toshiba_mg03aca400_4tb_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

Our write percentage testing illustrates the varying performance of each solution with mixed workloads. The 100% column to the right is a pure write workload of the 4K file size, and 0% represents a pure 4K read workload.

 

The Toshiba manages to beat the Western Digital SE with its mixed read/write workload performance, but falls behind the Seagate V.6 in the 60-90% range.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5658_14_toshiba_mg03aca400_4tb_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

The Toshiba comes extremely close to tying the Seagate V.6 in overall latency, providing 57,897 I/O's (97.9%) at 100-200ms, and the remaining 1236 I/O's (2.09) in the 200-400ms range. The V.6 only edges the Toshiba by a mere .1% in this test.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5658_15_toshiba_mg03aca400_4tb_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

We record the power consumption measurements during our test run at QD256, and we calculate the stated average results during the last five minutes of the test.

 

The Toshiba MG03ACA400 averages 9.63 Watts, above the competing solutions. It is important to note that the difference of only .7 Watts needs to be taken into consideration with the IOPS to Watts results below.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5658_16_toshiba_mg03aca400_4tb_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5658_17_toshiba_mg03aca400_4tb_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

IOPS to Watts measurements are generated from data recorded during our test. The Toshiba HDD delivers an average of 22.4 IOPS per Watt for 4K random writes, and 20 IOPS per Watt for 4K random read access.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below