TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,143 Reviews & Articles | 39,488 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Crucial M500 480GB SSD Review - Crucial M500 480GB SSD

Crucial M500 480GB SSD Review
Three down, one to go. Today we look at the final capacity size in the Crucial M500 product family, the 480GB model. (NASDAQ:MU)
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jul 18, 2013 4:06 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Crucial

Crucial M500 480GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5604_06_crucial_m500_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Crucial put together an attractive package for the M500.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5604_07_crucial_m500_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

On the back, we found a list of package contents. You get the drive and he 7mm to 9.5mm adapter.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5604_08_crucial_m500_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Crucial flips the label sides to the opposite sides from what other companies do. The information label is on the top of the drive and the full color label is on the bottom. Here we see the information label with the model number, serial number and so on.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5604_09_crucial_m500_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The bottom of the drive has the full color label.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5604_10_crucial_m500_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The Crucial M500 is a 7mm z-height drive, so it works in many of the new ultrabooks on the market. Crucial includes a .5mm adapter that you may need in some notebooks, but very few.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5604_11_crucial_m500_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The SATA power and data connectors are also in the same location so you won't have an issue using this product in your notebook ultrabook or desktop.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5604_12_crucial_m500_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the inside of the drive. One of the first things you'll notice is the array of capacitors that works to flush the data in the buffer to the flash if a host power failure event occurs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5604_13_crucial_m500_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

There are 16 NAND packages on the 480GB M500. There are three dies per package.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5604_14_crucial_m500_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The same Marvell 88SS9187 controller was chosen for the full M500 series.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5604_15_crucial_m500_480gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Flashtastic - 400MB/s claimed sequential write performance, exactly what we need. Let's see exactly what the 480GB model actually does over the next few pages.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases