TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,910 Reviews & Articles | 38,058 News Posts

Intel DC S3500 480GB Enterprise SSD Review - 128K Sequential Read/Write

Intel DC S3500 480GB Enterprise SSD Review

Intel launches the DC S3500 Enterprise SSD for read-centric applications and light mixed workloads with enterprise-class features at rock bottom pricing. The DC S3500 targets the rapidly growing mainstream SSD market, follow us as we review it. (NASDAQ:INTC)

| SSDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Jun 11, 2013 7:31 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: Intel

128K Sequential Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_28_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_29_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The 128K sequential speeds reflect the maximum sequential throughput of the SSD using a realistic file size encountered in an enterprise scenario.

 

The Intel DC S3500 comes in at an average of 439 MB/s in sequential read speed, falling below the rest of the entrants.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_30_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The DC S3500 features the lowest performance in our 128K sequential write testing with an average of 419 MB/s. We also note more variability with this workload than the other SSDs in the test pool.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_31_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The Intel DC S3500 continues its pattern of variability in our write percentage testing, but manages to keep up with the closely matched SM843.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_32_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The Intel DC S3500 displays a bit of the write variability in our latency results with 71.4% of I/O's at 60-80ms, and 28.5% of I/O's in the 80-100ms range.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_33_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The DC S3500 averages 4.72 Watts during sequential write testing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_34_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The Intel DC S3500 provides 88 MB/s per Watt, the lowest average of our test pool.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases