TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,011 Reviews & Articles | 38,771 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

Intel DC S3500 480GB Enterprise SSD Review - 128K Sequential Read/Write

Intel DC S3500 480GB Enterprise SSD Review
Intel launches the DC S3500 Enterprise SSD for read-centric applications and light mixed workloads with enterprise-class features at rock bottom pricing. The DC S3500 targets the rapidly growing mainstream SSD market, follow us as we review it. (NASDAQ:INTC)
| SSDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Jun 11, 2013 7:31 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Intel

128K Sequential Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_28_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_29_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The 128K sequential speeds reflect the maximum sequential throughput of the SSD using a realistic file size encountered in an enterprise scenario.

 

The Intel DC S3500 comes in at an average of 439 MB/s in sequential read speed, falling below the rest of the entrants.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_30_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The DC S3500 features the lowest performance in our 128K sequential write testing with an average of 419 MB/s. We also note more variability with this workload than the other SSDs in the test pool.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_31_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The Intel DC S3500 continues its pattern of variability in our write percentage testing, but manages to keep up with the closely matched SM843.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_32_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The Intel DC S3500 displays a bit of the write variability in our latency results with 71.4% of I/O's at 60-80ms, and 28.5% of I/O's in the 80-100ms range.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_33_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The DC S3500 averages 4.72 Watts during sequential write testing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5534_34_intel_dc_s3500_480gb_enterprise_ssd_review.png

 

The Intel DC S3500 provides 88 MB/s per Watt, the lowest average of our test pool.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases