TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,979 Reviews & Articles | 38,634 News Posts

ADATA XPG SX900 128GB with SandForce B02 controller SSD Review - ADATA SX900 128GB SSD

ADATA XPG SX900 128GB with SandForce B02 controller SSD Review

ADATA is first to market with a retail product using SandForce's new B02 stepping controller. SURPRISE! TRIM is also fixed thanks to ADATA's new 5.0.7a firmware that's available for ADATA drives with SandForce 2000 Series controllers. Too little too late, or good things come to those who wait?

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Apr 10, 2013 6:01 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: ADATA

ADATA SX900 128GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5375_07_adata_xpg_sx900_128gb_with_sandforce_b02_controller_ssd_review.jpg

 

After hitting the market more than a year ago, we get our first look at the XPG SX900. We specifically asked for the 128GB capacity size since we learned that batch has the new B02 stepping controller.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5375_08_adata_xpg_sx900_128gb_with_sandforce_b02_controller_ssd_review.jpg

 

The back of the drive lists the model number, warranty code which would be like a serial number and the Acronis key.

 

All of the mounting positions on the bottom are where they should be, but one is covered up by the warranty sticker.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5375_09_adata_xpg_sx900_128gb_with_sandforce_b02_controller_ssd_review.jpg

 

As we mentioned on the specifications page, our sample is a 9.5mm z-height, but ADATA announced a change to all 7mm in the coming weeks.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5375_10_adata_xpg_sx900_128gb_with_sandforce_b02_controller_ssd_review.jpg

 

The included desktop adapter bracket offsets the drive to the side so the SATA power and data connections are closer to your 3.5" form factor drives. This makes wiring easier.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5375_11_adata_xpg_sx900_128gb_with_sandforce_b02_controller_ssd_review.jpg

 

I really don't need to harp on the security sticker covering the mounting hole. If you ever catch grief from ADATA's RMA department, then send them back to this article for this image.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5375_12_adata_xpg_sx900_128gb_with_sandforce_b02_controller_ssd_review.jpg

 

The ADATA SX900 is the first retail product with the LSI SandForce SF-2281VB2, aka stepping B02. There are eight NAND flash chips on this particular drive and all of them are on the same side of the PCB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5375_13_adata_xpg_sx900_128gb_with_sandforce_b02_controller_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here is a nice close up of LSI SandForce's new SF-2281 controller. The controller shows VB2 and that means it's the new B02 stepping. The difference is refinements during the manufacturing process that lead to reduced power consumption.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5375_14_adata_xpg_sx900_128gb_with_sandforce_b02_controller_ssd_review.jpg

 

ADATA is now packaging NAND, which is good news for them since it reduces costs, but bad news for diligent reviewers trying to double check every nook and cranny. The numbers don't give us a lot of information since we don't have a decoder sheet. ADATA tells us this is IMFT 20nm synchronous flash and we can see it has a TSOP package. We've tested a handful of new 19nm and 20nm drives with LSI SandForce controllers and the results have been mixed. In the 128GB capacity size, the Kingston V300 and OCZ Technology Vertex 3.20 come to mind, and both were slower than their 19/20nm parts.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases