TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,932 Reviews & Articles | 38,217 News Posts

Plextor M5 Pro 128GB with Xtreme Firmware SSD Review - Plextor M5 Pro 128GB SSD

Plextor M5 Pro 128GB with Xtreme Firmware SSD Review

Plextor has given its M5 Pro 128GB SSD the Xtreme firmware treatment. We put it up against the 128GB kings from Samsung (840 Pro) and OCZ (Vector) to see how it goes.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Apr 5, 2013 11:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Plextor

Plextor M5 Pro 128GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5305_07_plextor_m5_pro_128gb_with_xtreme_firmware_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we see the actual drive. It is a Plextor as you can see, but all of the data is located on the back of the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5305_08_plextor_m5_pro_128gb_with_xtreme_firmware_ssd_review.jpg

 

The back sticker lists the model number, the capacity size, serial number and so on.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5305_09_plextor_m5_pro_128gb_with_xtreme_firmware_ssd_review.jpg

 

At this point we don't recommend buying a SSD with a 9.5mm z-height since one day you may want to use the drive in an ultrabook. The Plextor M5 Pro follows the 7mm specs, which will fit in your ultrabook.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5305_10_plextor_m5_pro_128gb_with_xtreme_firmware_ssd_review.jpg

 

The SATA power and data connectors are located where they should be. Here we see the drive loaded in the desktop adapter bracket.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5305_11_plextor_m5_pro_128gb_with_xtreme_firmware_ssd_review.jpg

 

Plextor used the latest Marvell controller, 88SS9187-BLD2. The NAND flash and DRAM are on the other side of the PCB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5305_12_plextor_m5_pro_128gb_with_xtreme_firmware_ssd_review.jpg

 

An up-close shot of the controller.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5305_13_plextor_m5_pro_128gb_with_xtreme_firmware_ssd_review.jpg

 

The NAND and DRAM all get thermal transfer material to the top cover of the drive and that's why all of the components are on the same side of the PCB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/3/5305_14_plextor_m5_pro_128gb_with_xtreme_firmware_ssd_review.jpg

 

There are eight 19nm Toshiba Toggle NAND flash chips, Type A, 8K page sizes. The 128GB capacity size uses a single 256MB DRAM chip to hold table data.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases